Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Yankee1 on May 14, 2009, 07:32:24 AM
-
If opponent plays a set aside card that reads: set aside for one turn, on his discard phase, does he get to return the set aside cards on his next draw phase? The rule book states that a turn begins with draw three and ends with discard and if you set a card aside durring the discard phase I'm thinking that you need to go through one complete turn before you bring the card back in.
-
I used to believe the same thing too. I mean it only makes sense, right?!?!? Alas, what you mentioned is not the case. If you play the set aside at the end of your turn (discard phase), then your very next turn (after you draw your cards), that counts as one turn. So then you bring your character(s) back and draw the cards or whatever the special ability of the set aside allows the character(s) to do.
-
Thanks for the answer...I tried to tell her thats the way it is!!!!!!
-
Your upkeep phase is always when you count turns for purposes like set-aside or poison.
It is for this reason that the set-aside Lost Soul sets aside for two turns. If you only set aside for one turn, your opponent would get his Hero back immediately when he takes his turn, which you might as well not have bothered setting him aside in the first place.
-
The way my defense is set up, I'd almost prefer a one-turn set-aside.