Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Deist on July 14, 2010, 03:09:07 PM
-
If I use a set aside enhancement like Pentecost. It says set the hero aside for one turn. So I set him aside. Does he come back on my next turn or does he have to stay set aside all of next turn and come back on the following turn?
-
comes back next turn anytime during prep phase.
-
That's what I thought too, MKC, but Gabe is saying that the new rule is that they come back during upkeep.
Supposedly, it's been like that for 6 months, but there wasn't a big official announcement.
On that note, we need an official announcement page on rules like this (and the current Plagued with Diseases ruling once it comes to a conclusion.)
-
Amen! Evidently you cant set your guys aside with Feast of Trumpets and then, on the turn they come back, you cannot activate Gifts of the Magi to capitalize on all the cards....as if the 16 card hand limit wasn't enough.
They should link the erratta page to a Rule changes page so that hosts can print these out before each tourament to ensure propper rulings happen.
-
well i am new to the forums so i dont know anyone really but arent there only like 11 people that can make ruling and Master ur not one of them
-
He's not making a ruling - He's giving what he believes to be the answer to the ruling question, And he's got precedent to back up his statement.
And for the record theres more than 11 elders.
MKC falls into the REP category, and you can usually take thier statements as accurate, unless disputed by an elder or another REP.
In this case I agree with MKC, I guess if a change was made I didn't hear anything about it..... I hope that change hasn't been made, I heard it was going to happen after nationals.
-
I just heard about it this past week. I actually used the whole Gifts+ FoT this past weekend at MW regionals because i thought it was a legal play. I got like a fountain of cards in a 4 person multiplayer and then I had to give them all back when it got DoN'ed so sad for me....
-
I thought this was resolved earlier this season....shortly after the craziness about set-asides that Gabe had in his deck. The arbitrary definition of "one turn" is misleading...it should be based on what phase the character was set aside...one phase, then the next time that phase returns, the card comes back..
-
i havent heard or seen any change here on the boards. the REG states:
The character can return during any preparation phase, unless the set-aside card has a specified endpoint. The set-aside card is then discarded.
I thought this was resolved earlier this season....shortly after the craziness about set-asides that Gabe had in his deck. The arbitrary definition of "one turn" is misleading...it should be based on what phase the character was set aside...one phase, then the next time that phase returns, the card comes back..
what phase it is set aside is irrelevant, as counters on cards you control in set aside are added on your own upkeep.
-
Last year there was talk from Tim and Bryon about changing it so that set-asides returned immediately after they reached their duration, which happens during the upkeep. For example, Pentecost sets characters aside for one turn. On your upkeep it would get a counter, the character(s) return and you may draw three.
I recall that this change was going to take effect after Nationals so I think this is the way it's supposed to have worked all year. But when I search the boards I can't even find the discussion on this topic anymore, only a couple abstract references to it (pre-Nats) from RDT and Profalstad.
-
So we play it as it has always been played unless it is officially changed. One of the actions you can take during your prep phase is to return characters from set-aside. Upkeep phase simply exists to change counters, not to return characters.
From the rulebook:
Upkeep Phase
You must change counters if needed. Add counters to any of your characters that were set aside on a previous turn. Mark reductions on any of your characters that were poisoned or infected on a previous turn.
Set Aside a Character
You may set aside a character with a set-aside enhancement or return a character from a set-aside area to your territory. You may only return characters from your set-aside area during your Preparation Phase.
Kirk
-
MKC falls into the REP category, and you can usually take their statements as accurate, unless disputed by an elder or another REP.
RDT (who is also a REP) is correct. MKC has been playing this game for a long time. He is even a previous National Champion. He has also been on this forum for a long time and has kept up with rulings very well. Therefore, if he makes a guess regarding what a ruling will be you can figure that he is probably right. If other REPs (Real Experienced Players) disagree with him, then an Elder will step in and let everyone know which perspective is correct. If the Elders disagree, then we take the discussion to the other side of the forum and return with an official answer.
I think I'd have to agree with Kirk (another REP). If the change was never announced, then it's probably not something that we should change a month before Nationals. I'll start a thread about this on the other side of the forum, and it might get added to the list of announcements for next year.
-
I think Raptors Eating People are cool.
-
i had this come up in a root game and thought it was always during upkeep that the characters were wrong until i looked it up in the REG and saw what kirk posted-boy was i wrong...
-
I think Raptors Eating People are cool.
Raptors Eating People would be a great name for a band.