Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on April 03, 2018, 01:05:25 PM

Title: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Watchman on April 03, 2018, 01:05:25 PM
If I block with SK and I have initiative, I play WotT (If used by an OT human, interrupt the battle and discard a human hero. Cannot be prevented.), would SK’s on-going ability “Negate Enhnacements” still be active during the interrupt, and thus still preventing enhancements, or would it be suspended and thus my opponent can play an enh that’s not CBP or CBN to stop the discard? The below about Special Initiative entry from the REG reads:

When this occurs, suspend the card causing the removal and additional abilities or effects waiting to activate (currently active ongoing abilities remain active).

But under Interrupt it reads that an Interrupt temporarily suspends “All active abilities.”

So which is it? I’ve always thought that SK still prevents enhancements during the interrupt but I’m not sure after reading this.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: RedemptionAggie on April 03, 2018, 01:11:55 PM
WotT interrupts SK's prevent, so it's not active during SI.

If you didn't interrupt the battle, SK would be preventing during SI.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Josh on April 03, 2018, 02:58:30 PM
Also, if SK could be made CBN or CBI somehow, then it'd still be active during SI.

The thing to remember about ongoing Negate abilities is that they are a combination of two abilities:  An instant "Negate" and an ongoing "Prevent".  It's the ongoing "Prevent" that WotT interrupts.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Bobbert on April 03, 2018, 03:10:12 PM
Follow-up question: if the enhancement played for SI doesn't remove SK from battle, what happens when the interrupt ends? Since SK says "negate" and not "prevent" does he then negate the other enhancement if he gets a chance to kick back in?
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: The Guardian on April 03, 2018, 03:13:09 PM
No, the negate has already completed and is not interrupted by an interrupt the battle ability. SK would just go back to preventing additional enhancements.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Josh on April 03, 2018, 05:03:08 PM
No, the negate has already completed and is not interrupted by an interrupt the battle ability. SK would just go back to preventing additional enhancements.

This is why it was discovered a few years ago that when one of the Kings WC FBTN heroes (like Ira) is blocked by a PG EC that plays 2KH and then Confusion, Ira would NOT negate Confusion, because the ongoing ability that was interrupted was a "Prevent", not a "Negate".  Thus when Ira is no longer interrupted, his Prevent can't do anything about Confusion, which was already played.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Watchman on April 03, 2018, 05:10:05 PM
Forgive me if I missed it but isn’t there a contradiction though between the bolded part and the interrupt’s “all active abilities”?
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: RedemptionAggie on April 03, 2018, 05:56:32 PM
The bolded portion is part of the definition of SI, which is not an interrupt - it just allows you the opportunity to play an interrupt or negate.
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Kevinthedude on April 03, 2018, 05:56:46 PM
Forgive me if I missed it but isn’t there a contradiction though between the bolded part and the interrupt’s “all active abilities”?

SI on its own doesn’t stop currently active ongoing abilities but interrupt does.

Edit: Ninja’d
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Watchman on April 03, 2018, 06:42:12 PM
Forgive me if I missed it but isn’t there a contradiction though between the bolded part and the interrupt’s “all active abilities”?

SI on its own doesn’t stop currently active ongoing abilities but interrupt does.

Edit: Ninja’d

Got it. Thanks!
Title: Re: Selfish Kinsman and Wickedness of the Tenants
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 09, 2018, 04:36:01 PM
I applaud your ability to ask this question without tipping off the combo  :-X
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal