Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on June 15, 2017, 09:50:35 AM

Title: Seize Him!
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 15, 2017, 09:50:35 AM
1.  Does SI from the capture have to complete before you can search and set-aside?

2.  Asked before but just wanting to double check: I believe the REG says that cards returning from set-aside go to territory, so does that mean that cards that can't go to territory (like a dominate, artifact, enhancement, ect) would be discarded?
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Red on June 15, 2017, 10:59:29 AM
1.  Does SI from the capture have to complete before you can search and set-aside?

2.  Asked before but just wanting to double check: I believe the REG says that cards returning from set-aside go to territory, so does that mean that cards that can't go to territory (like a dominate, artifact, enhancement, ect) would be discarded?
Yes and Yes.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 15, 2017, 12:28:43 PM
2. I don't see anything in the reg stating otherwise. However, I've always seen the set aside card return to where it came from. Ie SoG set aside for 3 turns from deck goes back to deck.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Master Q on June 15, 2017, 01:17:46 PM
2. I don't see anything in the reg stating otherwise. However, I've always seen the set aside card return to where it came from. Ie SoG set aside for 3 turns from deck goes back to deck.

Yeah, this is how I've always played it. It doesn't make sense otherwise.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Red on June 17, 2017, 11:36:14 AM
2. I don't see anything in the reg stating otherwise. However, I've always seen the set aside card return to where it came from. Ie SoG set aside for 3 turns from deck goes back to deck.

Yeah, this is how I've always played it. It doesn't make sense otherwise.
When I have a computer handy I'll cite an elder quote showing otherwise
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 17, 2017, 12:16:13 PM
Okay so if we did go with the logic hypothetically that it returns to territory would SoG immediately be played, as it is entering play? (I see where you're going with this :p)

Another example of cards being set aside which go back to where they came from rather than discard is in t2 with water jar where the owner cannot control multiple copies of unique cards.

The reg entry referring to cards returning to territory from set aside seems to be addressing common set aside enhancements such as the feasts.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Gabe on June 17, 2017, 12:42:36 PM
Water Jar says what to do with the cards.

The definition of "Play" in the REG where dominants are concerned doesn't involve moving one from set aside to territory.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 17, 2017, 01:03:51 PM
Water Jar says what to do with the cards.

The definition of "Play" in the REG where dominants are concerned doesn't involve moving one from set aside to territory.

water jar doesn't say to put duplicate copies of unique cards owner controls back on top of the deck though. however, this is the outcome. one could say to dc or do that or either. returning to previous location is far more consistent

but the dominant is entering play, when does a dominant otherwise not activate immediately upon entering play? "Play (Play an Enhancement)" is what is in the reg there is no definition for Play (a dominant)

by the way this is multi track drifting

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi3.kym-cdn.com%2Fentries%2Ficons%2Foriginal%2F000%2F000%2F727%2FDenshaDeD_ch01p16-17.png&hash=2eb4b167ff65db0c539f6c5caafdb5bdda54ce52)

we are currently discussing the possibilities of two hypothetical ruling outcomes
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Gabe on June 17, 2017, 01:14:32 PM
See REG glossary for definition of "Play". Not the special ability section.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Kevinthedude on June 17, 2017, 01:18:34 PM
Water Jar says what to do with the cards.

The definition of "Play" in the REG where dominants are concerned doesn't involve moving one from set aside to territory.

water jar doesn't say to put duplicate copies of unique cards owner controls back on top of the deck though. however, this is the outcome. one could say to dc or do that or either. returning to previous location is far more consistent

but the dominant is entering play, when does a dominant otherwise not activate immediately upon entering play? "Play (Play an Enhancement)" is what is in the reg there is no definition for Play (a dominant)

by the way this is multi track drifting

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi3.kym-cdn.com%2Fentries%2Ficons%2Foriginal%2F000%2F000%2F727%2FDenshaDeD_ch01p16-17.png&hash=2eb4b167ff65db0c539f6c5caafdb5bdda54ce52)

we are currently discussing the possibilities of two hypothetical ruling outcomes

There isn't any new ruling being made every part of this scenario is already outlined in the REG.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 17, 2017, 01:20:04 PM
okay so from my understanding if we are going with the dirty little deed of not playing thematically where Christ only returns due to the second coming

i guess we are encouraging more unbelievable need for the use of shrine to artemis?? rofl i guess artemis and Christ are homies if that's the only way I'm keeping Son of God around with seize him
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Gabe on June 17, 2017, 01:29:40 PM
This is a matter of simply playing buy what rules say. Not updating the entry to change where the cards return to was an oversight on our part. It doesn't work how we prefer but it works. I imagine this is something we will correct in the next update.

We don't do a perfect job but we try to rule based on what is written, not how we want things to work. It comes back to your example of coding the game. If it's coded then we follow the code.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 17, 2017, 01:31:53 PM
sure but it also comes back to healing involving a search ability and outsiders being able to target lost souls

thematically you are siding with the Sanhedrin in that Christ won't return on the third day here :p

I am positive this was not the intention of this card

especially considering that "cards return to territory" is more of an oversight than the wording of seize him
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 17, 2017, 02:00:36 PM
How can you return to territory if you were never there?

Since interpreting it that way breaks the grammar, should we not focus on the "return" aspect? We wouldn't have to change the written rules, just interpret them from a different emphasis.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Adevine on June 17, 2017, 02:28:20 PM
wow! I am reading through all these different ruling posts and others and I am OVERWHELMED at the possibilities...it shows just how DEEP this game can be.  I am just trying to start learning the newer rules that have been added since I left over 7 years ago. :)
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Xonathan on June 17, 2017, 03:03:18 PM
I totally agree that the card should return to original location. That's what made sense to me when I first read the card.
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: dermo4christ on June 22, 2017, 12:51:36 AM
I totally agree that the card should return to original location. That's what made sense to me when I first read the card.

AGREED!
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Josh on June 22, 2017, 09:11:05 AM
Another example of cards being set aside which go back to where they came from rather than discard is in t2 with water jar where the owner cannot control multiple copies of unique cards.

Another example of cards being set aside which go back to where they came from rather than discard is the heroes set aside by Seized By Rioters returning to the Field of Battle after 2 turns...  Oh wait   ;)
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 22, 2017, 09:34:21 AM
So then the ruling should be overturned that the multiple copies go to discard? :p

Like I said the wording in the reg seems to be referring to enhancement to character interaction and as previously stated this is not how this card was tested or intended

Just like the wording of outsiders which was obviously not intended to be able to target lost souls

It's beyond evident that the majority of players see the default as returning to previous location as this is how it was tested and clearly how it has been played so far

Or we can conform to broken rules and exploit the game yay!
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 23, 2017, 07:11:06 PM
just wondering if we are solid on the seeming decision that the set aside card is discarded and if so

does this apply to any card being set aside after 3 turns since even a character "returning" to territory would also not be considered played by play definition which is what is also making the doms, arts, etc dc?
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: Jonesy on June 23, 2017, 08:15:32 PM
So can i just get a clear ruling. What happens to a dominant if i set it aside by the current ruling?
Title: Re: Seize Him!
Post by: kariusvega on June 29, 2017, 07:50:05 PM
as far as i can tell the ruling a dom enhance art are going to dc is sticking based on

"When a card returns from the set-aside area it goes to the territory of the player that controls it."

and

"Play
A card is considered “played” if it meets these criteria:
You play any other card type by putting it face up on the playing surface from hand,
deck, or discard pile due to your special ability or game action, except when you discard
a card from hand."
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal