Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Bobbert on July 23, 2017, 12:07:57 PM
-
Samuel
"Negate play abilities. You may search deck for King Saul or David and put it in play to draw 2. May band to a 1 Samuel hero. CBN."
I've heard it claimed recently that since "may...and" mean both parts are optional, if you've already drawn Saul/Dave you can put him in play from hand and still get the draw. Is this true? On one hand, I can see the reasoning, but on the other it takes away the biggest drawback of Sam speed.
-
That is not accurate. Both parts of the cost must be fulfilled in order to get the benefit
-
The "and put in play" is clarifying where they go once you find them, it then says "to draw 2" so if you don't find them in your deck you can't put them in play from that location so you do not get the draw.
For what your talking about is something like AUTO which is "you may draw 2 and exchange with a gold judge" you don't have to do the draw you can just exchange to a judge. Or you can just draw and not exchange, or do both. Now if it said you may draw 2 to exchange then you would have to draw to exchange
-
That's what I thought. Thanks.