Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Perri on December 24, 2009, 10:02:15 AM

Title: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: Perri on December 24, 2009, 10:02:15 AM
So, I've been told by various other players that I can NOT have two heroes with the same name in my deck, even if they're of a different brigade. I couldn't find anything on the forums, but I found this in the 10th edition rulebook:

Unique characters with special abilities that have the
same name and brigade are limited to a maximum of 1 each
per 50 cards in a deck. For example, you can have one
David (green brigade) and one David (red brigade)

but not two David cards in the green brigade (even if their
special abilities vary) in a deck that is smaller than 100
cards.

Now, the rules are pretty clear, my question is whether or not this rule has errata, or something else I don't know about, or if whoever told me I couldn't do it was wrong.
Title: Re: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on December 24, 2009, 12:19:08 PM
I believe you can have both David's in the deck, you cannot have both out at the same time as it is the same person and unique.
Title: Re: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: sk on December 24, 2009, 12:24:30 PM
That's the way I understand it as well.
Title: Re: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: STAMP on December 24, 2009, 01:44:39 PM
same name + same brigade = same card
same name + same artwork = same card

 :)
Title: Re: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 24, 2009, 03:31:52 PM
same name + same brigade = same card
same name + same artwork = same card

 :)

So, in David's case, they have the same name, but not the same brigade nor artwork. That is why he is the exception.
Title: Re: Same character, different brigade?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on December 24, 2009, 04:03:36 PM
But because he is still David, regardless of brigade and artwork, you cannot have both out at the same time.  Hope that explains why.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal