Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Tracerburnout on August 27, 2014, 07:05:35 PM
-
Here is the situation. Help me clarify what happens.
I (M) rescue attempt with
Joseph - Search Deck for Storehouse or Goshen. Protect sons of Jacob from Discard. Enhancements with "Joseph" in title or reference cannot be negated.
My opponent (O) follows:
Idolaters - Capture Aaron
M: Cup or Wrath - Holder may take any two Evil Characters in play and cause them to fight each other The loser is discarded.
M: I choose my "Mocking Soldiers"- Underdeck a random card from opponent's hand (cause he didn't have any other evil creatures) and His Idolaters.
O: love of money- Evil characters may use enhancements of any/all evil brigades this battle
M: Heavy Taxes - Opponent must discard a card from hand and you may draw a card. If used by an emperor do this twice and end the battle
O: Denying Blame -Interrupt and redirect the last good enhancement played in battle (play the redirected enhancement as if it were yours, regardless of its brigade color)
Now here is the question:
The last enhancement played was "Cup of Wrath". I'm pretty sure that wouldn't count though, because it was played in a different battle correct?
Please advise.
Josh
-
I think because Denying Blame says "in battle" it only refers to the current battle (the side battle) and since there are no GEs in that battle nothing happens.
Here's a quote from the Redemption Wiki,
The phrase ‘in battle’ or ‘current battle’ refers to any cards in the current battle that can be either the primary battle (rescue attempt or battle challenge) or it can refer to a side battle, NOT BOTH.
-
I think because Denying Blame says "in battle" it only refers to the current battle (the side battle) and since there are no GEs in that battle nothing happens.
Correct.
-
What if his opponent had saved Denying blame until after his Idolater's won and, somehow, played it. Would the interupting and redirecting undo what was done in the mocking soldiers vs. idolaters side battle?
-
What if his opponent had saved Denying blame until after his Idolater's won and, somehow, played it. Would the interupting and redirecting undo what was done in the mocking soldiers vs. idolaters side battle?
Good question, but this was actually discussed at Nats, and I pointed out that we already have a precedent that anything that happens in a battle is inherently CBI once you hit battle resolution. A side battle is it's own battle with its own battle resolution, and once that happens, everything in the side battle is CBI going forward.
Essentially, side battle abilities are inherently CBI once the side battle they started passes battle resolution.
-
Another thing,
Would your opponent even be allowed to play Denying Blame after Heavy Taxes? I thought end the battle was inherently CBI.
-
Another thing,
Would your opponent even be allowed to play Denying Blame after Heavy Taxes? I thought end the battle was inherently CBI.
It only ends the battle of played on an emperor which Mocking Soldiers is not. Otherwise, yes, Heavy Taxes would end the battle and nothing could stop it.
-
Ahh, very good point. I forgot it said that.