Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on August 02, 2016, 10:20:30 AM
-
I have a royal hero in battle. My opponent blocks with two banded ECs of the same brigade and plays an EE, giving me SI. I play Royal Parade. If I choose to ignore the EC that the EE was "played on", will my royal hero be ignoring the effects of the EE when it tries to reactivate? Or will the EE activate on the other EC?
Royal Parade - "If used by royalty, interrupt the battle and ignore one Evil Character."
-
If I'm not mistaken, when there're characters of the same brigade in battle they fight as one unit. So if an enhancement is played then they both are using the same enhancement towards their opponent (unless the SA is character specific, such as "If used by a Roman Emperor..."). If one of those characters is removed from battle, the enhancement remains with the other character (even if it was "played" on the removed character).
In your scenario, if the EE's hero removal ability can be used by both ECs, then RP can be played but it would only be targeting one of the ECs, not the EE's SA, while the other EC remains in battle. The hero would still have SI as the EE is still removing the hero from battle since the EE is being used by the other EC (that is, the SA on the EE is being reactivated, not so much the EE being "used" by the other EC, as the EC would only be using the numbers of the EE).
Let's see if an elder or senior player thinks this is correct or not.
-
So if an enhancement is played then they both are using the same enhancement towards their opponent (unless the SA is character specific, such as "If used by a Roman Emperor...").
Well I know from this thread (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/characters-using-enhancements/msg555436/#msg555436) that only one character in battle plays an enhancement. Royal Parade is unique in that it ignores a specific character instead of a brigade, as almost all other ignores do.
-
The ignore kicks the character it targets out of battle, all other cards not specifically tied to the kicked EC stay in battle, the interrupt completes so the EE attempts to recast itself, and as long as the remaining EC is capable of using it, the EE successfully recasts and is once again giving your hero SI.
-
The ignore kicks the character it targets out of battle, all other cards not specifically tied to the kicked EC stay in battle, the interrupt completes so the EE attempts to recast itself, and as long as the remaining EC is capable of using it, the EE successfully recasts and is once again giving your hero SI.
Ignore does not kick characters out of battle. An ignored character stays in battle and can play enhancements but it cannot target the character which it is being ignored by.
-
Ignore does not kick characters out of battle. An ignored character stays in battle and can play enhancements but it cannot target the character which it is being ignored by.
Is that the result of a rule change at some point or have I always been playing ignore wrong? I could have sworn in the past that ignore (and repel) was a kick.
-
Is that the result of a rule change at some point or have I always been playing ignore wrong? I could have sworn in the past that ignore (and repel) was a kick.
It's always been that way. Ignore (repel) leaves the character in battle with (essentially) infinite initiative. Withdraw (return to territory) is what kicks characters out of battle.
-
Is that the result of a rule change at some point or have I always been playing ignore wrong? I could have sworn in the past that ignore (and repel) was a kick.
It's always been that way. Ignore (repel) leaves the character in battle with (essentially) infinite initiative. Withdraw (return to territory) is what kicks characters out of battle.
I think this undermines the power of Ignore. I think this should be treated the same as SI, in that you have to play a negate or end the battle. Are we too content with the status quo to consider a change? :prayer: ;)
-
Is that the result of a rule change at some point or have I always been playing ignore wrong? I could have sworn in the past that ignore (and repel) was a kick.
It's always been that way. Ignore (repel) leaves the character in battle with (essentially) infinite initiative. Withdraw (return to territory) is what kicks characters out of battle.
I think this undermines the power of Ignore. I think this should be treated the same as SI, in that you have to play a negate or end the battle. Are we too content with the status quo to consider a change? :prayer: ;)
If you band in other characters, or other characters of a different brigade, or have a character or play an enhancement that can't be ignored then you probably won't have to worry too much about Ignore's power. IMO, Ignore's power is actually a good balance and variety to the game with SI not being an issue. I've beaten ignore plenty of times, albeit it can be frustrating to come up against! But to me, that's what's fun about this game: a variety of possibilities to win the battle, while there's a variety of options to stop the hero.
-
Is that the result of a rule change at some point or have I always been playing ignore wrong? I could have sworn in the past that ignore (and repel) was a kick.
It's always been that way. Ignore (repel) leaves the character in battle with (essentially) infinite initiative. Withdraw (return to territory) is what kicks characters out of battle.
I think this undermines the power of Ignore. I think this should be treated the same as SI, in that you have to play a negate or end the battle. Are we too content with the status quo to consider a change? :prayer: ;)
You're describing Withdraw.
-
Still waiting on an answer to my original question :P
If I choose to ignore the EC that the EE was "played on", will my royal hero be ignoring the effects of the EE when it tries to reactivate? Or will the EE activate on the other EC?
-
pretty sure you successfully ignore the ec which played the enh
and i'm also pretty sure that all rescuing heroes would be ignoring the ec/enh
-
pretty sure you successfully ignore the ec which played the enh
and i'm also pretty sure that all rescuing heroes would be ignoring the ec/enh
+1
I think that was a ruling against me in a game too.
-
pretty sure you successfully ignore the ec which played the enh
and i'm also pretty sure that all rescuing heroes would be ignoring the ec/enh
+1
I think that was a ruling against me in a game too.
+1
-
pretty sure you successfully ignore the ec which played the enh
and i'm also pretty sure that all rescuing heroes would be ignoring the ec/enh
+1
I think that was a ruling against me in a game too.
+1
+1
-
I believe the general rule is that an interrupted enhancement can only reactivate on a different character if the original character on which it was played is no longer in battle.
And if that's not the general rule, it probably should be. 8)
-
Sorry if this is redundant, but I want to make sure I have this correct. So the end result of this scenario is that the hero(es) ignores the EC and EE that was played on that EC, and the EE doesn't reactivate on the remaining EC, but the remaining non-ignored EC is still blocking the hero(es), correct?
-
The enhancement would still reactivate, but it could not target the Hero who is ignoring the EC who played it (nor could it change targets).
Example: EC blocks and plays an EE "Discard a Hero" and targets King David. King David plays Royal Parade and ignores that EC. The EE reactivates but it cannot target King David because he's ignoring and it cannot change to a different target (thus it fizzles).
Example: EC blocks and plays an EE "Capture a Hero" and targets a Hero in territory. If the numbers on the EE transferred initiative to King David, then King David could use Royal Parade to ignore the EC, but then the EE would reactivate and still capture the Hero in territory since that Hero was not ignoring the EC.
-
The enhancement would still reactivate, but it could not target the Hero who is ignoring the EC who played it (nor could it change targets).
Example: EC blocks and plays an EE "Discard a Hero" and targets King David. King David plays Royal Parade and ignores that EC. The EE reactivates but it cannot target King David because he's ignoring and it cannot change to a different target (thus it fizzles).
Example: EC blocks and plays an EE "Capture a Hero" and targets a Hero in territory. If the numbers on the EE transferred initiative to King David, then King David could use Royal Parade to ignore the EC, but then the EE would reactivate and still capture the Hero in territory since that Hero was not ignoring the EC.
Ok, I think I got it. Thanks