Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: EmJayBee83 on July 20, 2009, 02:09:32 AM
-
Here is the scenario...
I have Jerusalem Tower active, and my opponent draws the Revealer. What happens to any LS that are revealed?
Jerusalem Tower Play As All opponents are prevented from removing cards from holder’s draw pile. Draw pile may still be searched, revealed, and/or shuffled.
Revealer LS SA When you draw this card, each opponent must reveal the top two cards of his draw pile. Place each revealed Lost Soul in owner's Land of Bondage. Place the rest beneath owner's draw pile.
-
This was decided upon a long time ago...I wish I remember which way it was ruled... :P
-
I believe that the ruling is that it goes beneath with the card, but I think that thread was lost in the purge...
-
Yeah, I don't remember being surprised by the result, so I'm pretty sure it was ruled as RDT said.
-
Your J-tower would keep me ("all opponents") from removing the LS from your deck. But my Revealer doesn't try to make ME remove the LS from your deck. Instead it makes YOU ("opponent") remove your LS from your own deck. And since J-Tower doesn't protect you from yourself, I think that the Revealer would still work as normal.
-
I disagree,
The Revealer is the card causing the removal, since the Revealer is my card, I am causing the removal.
-
Non-LS revealed cards go to bottom of deck.
Revealed LS cannot be removed from deck per J-Tower's ability, so like other revealed cards to which no other ability applies, they go back where they came from: the top of the deck.
-
Oh, I thought I would be so smart by saying what Schaef just said...too bad he already said it. :-\ I guess I'll just agree then. ...
-
Non-LS revealed cards go to bottom of deck.
Revealed LS cannot be removed from deck per J-Tower's ability, so like other revealed cards to which no other ability applies, they go back where they came from: the top of the deck.
Must..... find...... way....... to abuse this!
-
Jephthah :)
-
Non-LS revealed cards go to bottom of deck.
Revealed LS cannot be removed from deck per J-Tower's ability, so like other revealed cards to which no other ability applies, they go back where they came from: the top of the deck.
I never should have let Prof Underwood talk me out of my original ruling. Drat the Prof with his silver tongue and Jedi-like powers of persuasion. :D
-
Must..... find...... way....... to abuse this!
It does push LS to the top (granted they were already in the top two cards), and push other cards to the bottom, so even that is at least something.
-
Non-LS revealed cards go to bottom of deck.
Revealed LS cannot be removed from deck per J-Tower's ability, so like other revealed cards to which no other ability applies, they go back where they came from: the top of the deck.
I never should have let Prof Underwood talk me out of my original ruling. Drat the Prof with his silver tongue and Jedi-like powers of persuasion. :D
These are not the souls you're looking for...
-
Non-LS revealed cards go to bottom of deck.
Revealed LS cannot be removed from deck per J-Tower's ability, so like other revealed cards to which no other ability applies, they go back where they came from: the top of the deck.
Oh rats, I almost posted that answer last night, but I questioned my powers of memory and went with the "I knew it and forgot it" response... :P
-
Jephthah :)
That and Evil Spawn... but those are too obvious. ;)
-
I never should have let Prof Underwood talk me out of my original ruling. Drat the Prof with his silver tongue and Jedi-like powers of persuasion. :D
I was totally going to say something witty like...
These are not the souls you're looking for...
But Chronic beat me to it :)
I still think that J-Tower is protecting against actions by one player and Revealer is causing actions by a different player, therefore they don't seem to contradict.
-
That's not how it works. The ability on the card means that the player is taking the action, not his targeted opponent.
That is the reasoning behind the "Dove" ruling, that Dove cannot discard an immune character like Red Dragon, supposing that the opponent, not the human Hero, is doing the discarding. The card is what carries out the effect, the opponent is, in the case of J Tower, the person playing the discard ability, and in the case of Dove, the person who chooses the card to target. This was also the genesis of the mostly-true-but-with-unrecognized-exceptions rule that cards, not players, are the targets of abilities.
-
OK, this clearly seems to have already been decided one way, and it's not a windmill that I care enough to fight :)
-
Having the card ability also decide who is doing the physical act of discarding is just one more layer of complexity the game doesn't need. I think you'll agree it would only cause more vagaries.
-
Having the card ability also decide who is doing the physical act of discarding is just one more layer of complexity the game doesn't need. I think you'll agree it would only cause more vagaries.
I agree it would cause more vagaries.