Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SirNobody on September 03, 2008, 04:10:14 PM
-
Hey,
Where does a character go when it returns from set-aside? Two Possessed by demons is played in battle to set aside the attacking hero. Son of God is played in response to immediately bring the character back from the set-aside area. Does that bring the character back into battle?
Consider Ambush the City: "If making a rescue attempt, set all cards in battle aside (regardless of immunity). Holder may begin a new rescue attempt against same player. Once new rescue attempt is completed, the original battle resumes as a battle challenge. Cannot be negated."
I propose, "Characters return to where they were set aside from if they return during the same phase they were set aside. Otherwise, character's return to the territory of the player that controls them."
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly, WildCard Secretary of Defense
www.freewebs.com/redemptionne
-
I've never understood 2PbD to return characters to battle even if Son of God is played that battle. Ambush the City is different because it specifies that the original battle continues.
-
"Otherwise, character's return to the territory of the player that controls them." should probably be "Otherwise, characters return to the territory of the player that controlled them before they were set aside."
L8er,
Gil
-
IDK, that might hurt some set asides, like the Teal dual colored ones. I've seen them played at the end of a players turn and brought back at the begining of that players next turn. I think this would hurt that because unless you have a hero in your hand, you've no one to go for a rescue Attempt with untill your next turn ends. If Gathering of Angels was played like that, it was returned at the end of the turn, that could mean 5 turns before you could band...just my thoughts.
-
He's not suggesting that characters should return in the same phase they're set aside - he's asking what happens IF they return during the same phase (not a turn later - later in the same phase).
-
Two Possessed by demons is played in battle to set aside the attacking hero. Son of God is played in response to immediately bring the character back from the set-aside area. Does that bring the character back into battle?
I was looking for the answer to this question and found this old thread on it. Can anyone give an official ruling on this?
-
Based on what I've seen discussed regarding the new hand-count rule wherein an opponent tries to return a hero in battle to a "full" hand leading it to be returned to territory instead, I propose that unless a card specifies otherwise, characters that return from "somewhere" default to returning to territory.