Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Eragon5 on March 06, 2015, 10:57:26 AM

Title: Returned to face value/Jephthah
Post by: Eragon5 on March 06, 2015, 10:57:26 AM
If I have Jephthah and have already used his "once per game"  ability, but then return him to my hand using hypocrisy (Special ability: Return any number of hero(es) to owner's hand(s)) resetting him to face value, I can then use his ability again correct? Or am I just operating under a misconception?
Title: Re: Returned to face value/Jephthah
Post by: Knoxyouthpastor on March 06, 2015, 11:04:16 AM
No...I'm certain on this one. Because it's a once per game ability.
Title: Re: Returned to face value/Jephthah
Post by: browarod on March 06, 2015, 11:07:01 AM
"<number> per game" abilities are tracked sort of as a game rule. It doesn't matter how many copies of the card are in your deck, or if you reset any of them to face value, you can still only use the ability the specified number of times total.

Jephthah, whether reset or if you have a second copy, can only activate his ability once per game.

Cards that simply say "limit 2 uses" or "may be used twice" I think are what you're thinking of. Those track uses on a card-specific basis and CAN be reset if the card is shuffled/returned to hand/reset. You can also use it that many times per copy of the card.
Title: Re: Returned to face value/Jephthah
Post by: DrowningFish on March 06, 2015, 11:16:37 AM
Here's a hypothetical.. Let's say my opponent uses Armorbearer (may band to any hero who fought in an earthly battle) and bands to my Jephthah. It says HOLDER may use this ability once per game. Does the holder make a difference? If I use the ability and then my opponent does? The holder has changed.
Title: Re: Returned to face value/Jephthah
Post by: browarod on March 06, 2015, 11:19:08 AM
Uses of abilities are always separate between players. The same Jephthah can be used by all players in a game once each. If a player has their own Jephthah but they already used the ability from yours they cannot then use their own also since the use is already spent.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal