Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Farmer_Maggot on October 10, 2014, 11:25:03 PM
-
If a character is returned to hand, if they are bearing a weapon, does that weapon return to hand with them?
thx
FM
-
Yep. Weapons always follow characters they are placed on wherever they go, except if a character is captured, in which case the weapon is discarded.
-
Did we get an answer to the question of:
Two WC characters of matching brigade are in battle; one holds a weapon. The one holding the weapon is discarded. Can the weapon be given to the other character?
-
Two WC characters of matching brigade are in battle; one holds a weapon. The one holding the weapon is discarded. Can the weapon be given to the other character?
Back in the day (before Redoubter was born), the answer to this question was always yes. The only reason I could see this changing now is a rigid translation of the "follow the host card" rule, which I would not support. However, what I always do when I bring a WC character into battle is quietly slide the weapon off the character as I read the SA, and then move it so that it is halfway between the original holder and any other WC character.
If my opponent asks, "Who is holding the weapon?" I would just reply, "That depends on which character you are targeting." ;)
-
Nice :)
-
Back in the day (before Redoubter was born)
We had rules on the game before it existed?
-
Back in the day (before Redoubter was born)
We had rules on the game before it existed?
Redoubter is a whippersnapper. ;)
-
Wow! A tournament host not assigning a weapon to a character so that it would not be discarded. :o
;) :)
-
I like how I get mentioned in threads anymore when I haven't arrived yet ::)
But it is true that there are rules in place prior to my starting the game that still apply here, and have not been explicitly overturned by new rulings. However, I have argued before (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/weapon-class-enhancements-and-removal-from-game/msg522367/#msg522367) that a weapon previously placed (either in prep/discard phases or during a previous battle) are thus 'placed' from then on and follow their holder wherever they go. I gave proof in the thread linked above for this thought, but that would be how I rule.
-
So it's a rule how you choose thing? Explicit reading of rules vs. We've-always-played-it-this-way?
-
I like how I get mentioned in threads anymore when I haven't arrived yet ::)
Further proof that you should be an Elder. :thumbup: