Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on March 23, 2018, 10:46:17 AM
-
Is responding to your own actions still a rule?
If it is does it apply to four drachma coin can I activate it and then discard it before my opponent plays DoN?
Four Drachma Coin
Protect the cards in your hand and deck from discard abilities on your opponent's cards. At any time if Peter is in play, you may discard this card to draw four.
-
It is not a rule. Since 4DC is an optional trigger, your opponent may request dominant initiative before you trigger it.
-
How exactly does that work?
If I activate it and then discard it right away they still get to play the dominant if it's already in the discard pile?
So the special ability is considered complete right away after you activate it even if you did have not that opportunity to discard it?
I would think that at least you would have the opportunity right away
To discard it or not and then if I don't then the opponent it should be able to play the dominant. I understand it's a trigger ability but I should be given the opportunity to trigger it before anything else happens at least the first time you activate it.
-
How exactly does that work?
If I activate it and then discard it right away they still get to play the dominant if it's already in the discard pile?
So the special ability is considered complete right away after you activate it even if you did have not that opportunity to discard it?
I would think that at least you would have the opportunity right away
To discard it or not and then if I don't then the opponent it should be able to play the dominant. I understand it's a trigger ability but I should be given the opportunity to trigger it before anything else happens at least the first time you activate it.
They can't DoN after you activate it but there is a period in between you putting 4DC in play and you activating it where both players get the option to play a dominant.
-
I understand what you're saying but I just don't think it's right I would think that you as the player who activated the card has an opportunity to decide if you're going to activate the second ability, before DoN is played.
-
kevinthedude is correct--4DC is activated and it immediately starts protecting the hand and sets the "At any time" trigger. However, before any optional triggers can be done (such as the discard to draw) each player has an opportunity to play dominant(s).