Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SomeKittens on July 17, 2011, 09:27:09 PM
-
Can one respond to their own action, even if the response has nothing to do with the original action?
-
Yes.
For instance, I can play False Peace, search for SoG, but then respond to my false peace action with Christian Martyr on your hero.
-
Follow up question: If I exchange a lost soul with my opponent, can he respond to that action?
-
Follow up question: If I exchange a lost soul with my opponent, can he respond to that action?
What do you mean by him responding to that action?
-
I exchange, he wants to Martyr before I enter battle.
-
He used the exchanger, I wanted to martyr bart before he entered battle to prevent his Disciples from being protected from my unholy writ. however in the process of me reaching out to take his exchanger and being slower to put it down then he was to put down the soul he just exchanged for, he moved phil and bart in to battle. I had every intent of martyring bart before he entered battle, he just moved faster then me. Could I martyr Bart and have his special ability not kick in because I wanted to do before he entered battle, but he moved faster then me.
-
Follow up question: If I exchange a lost soul with my opponent, can he respond to that action?
I exchange, he wants to Martyr before I enter battle.
Yes, he has the right to Martyr before you enter battle - The one exception to the respond to your own action rule is in regards to phase changes, Your response to an action can't be to perform an action that will start the next phase, generally this only happens in regards to moving from Prep to Battle, but it also has minor tie ins to the transition between Draw and Upkeep. This is the exact same scenario as Activating Gifts and attempting to rescue with Hur, the opponent gets the opportunity to play Destruction.
-
*facepalm* Right, I knew that, and said I'd rule that way. So I can't switch phases responding to my own action?
-
Yes, he has the right to Martyr before you enter battle - The one exception to the respond to your own action rule is in regards to phase changes, Your response to an action can't be to perform an action that will start the next phase, generally this only happens in regards to moving from Prep to Battle, but it also has minor tie ins to the transition between Draw and Upkeep. This is the exact same scenario as Activating Gifts and attempting to rescue with Hur, the opponent gets the opportunity to play Destruction.
+1 No one can rush between prep phase and starting a battle without allowing their opponent a chance to play a dominant on a character or artifact in the territory.