Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Maynid on July 28, 2011, 03:40:16 PM
-
Do "removed from game" conditions include discard? e.g.:
City of Refuge - "if your human would be removed from the game..."
-
No. They are seperate definitions and categories.
Cards that are discarded (usually by losing a battle by numbers or an ability that says "discard x") go to the discard pile and can be retrieved by cards that say they get cards out of the discard pile.
Cards that are removed from the game by an ability that says to "remove x from the game" are permanently gone for the rest of the game. They are put somewhere out of the way and there is no way to get them back.
-
So in my example, if my opponent uses a discard ability, then City of Refuge's ability is not applicable, correct?
-
So in my example, if my opponent uses a discard ability, then City of Refuge's ability is not applicable, correct?
Correct.
-
If there is a hero in my discard pile and it gets removed from the game...would it go to Refuge instead?
-
It sounds like it would, since City of Refuge does not specify a human "in play".
-
So in summary, discard can be considered "removed from play," but "removed from the game" is its own separate ability.
-
It sounds like it would, since City of Refuge does not specify a human "in play".
If an ability does not specify, it defaults to in play.
-
Except when it is an "instead" ability, since "instead" doesn't target, it merely changes the destination of a card targeted by a third party.
-
Instead changes the destination? That's news to me. So I can use Herod's Temple to save a NT Human sniped from my draw pile/hit with DD? Also: Triggered abilities don't need the trigger to occur in play?
-
Instead changes the destination? That's news to me. So I can use Herod's Temple to save a NT Human sniped from my draw pile/hit with DD?
Based on the Chamber of Angels ruling, I'd say yes.
Also: Triggered abilities don't need the trigger to occur in play?
This is strange and seems to depend on what the trigger is. But I do know that if your Human EC gets discarded from your deck, then you can activate Hormah's ability. That's part of why there's the protection clause on Philistine Outpost.
-
Instead changes the destination? That's news to me. So I can use Herod's Temple to save a NT Human sniped from my draw pile/hit with DD? Also: Triggered abilities don't need the trigger to occur in play?
Correct on both counts. Don't mistake the "target defaults to in play" ruling to mean "everything defaults to in play." Things triggering abilities are not being targeted by those abilities, so the targeting default doesn't apply.
-
Is a heal ability classified as an instead ability? or is it its own entity?
-
Heal is defined to be a magical outside-of-time ability, so that would be its own entity. (My tongue is only half in cheek here.)
-
Heal is indeed a unique ability type. It does break the rule for targeting, which is unfortunate because I always prefer rules to have no hard exceptions.
-
Heal is indeed a unique ability type. It does break the rule for targeting, which is unfortunate because I always prefer rules to have no hard exceptions.
Clearly, we should remove heal from the game.
-
Or we could just rip it in half.
-
First banned card: Leaves for Healing.
-
Dat Card, so OP.
-
Second banned card: Backwards Shadow.
This one is even more OP. It prevents poison! Forever!
-
First banned card: Leaves for Healing.
This is what happens to a player after improper use of Balaam's Donkey.