Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Kyp Henderson on June 16, 2010, 12:56:05 PM
-
What happens when an O.T. enhancement is about to be removed from the game (Wickedness Removed) and Book of the Law is active? Does the enhancement just get discarded instead?
Wickedness Removed (silver/green) 3/2 Zechariah 5:9 Multi HE You may remove this card from the game to reveal the top five cards of opponent's deck. Remove the evil cards from the game. You may put the Lost Souls in play. Place the rest beneath deck.
Book of the Law - II Kings 22:8 - A Protect your good O.T. Enhancements in play, draw pile, discard pile, and set-aside area from being removed from the game.
-
Depends on the language of the card - With Wickedness Removed it is a cost-benefit ability - And since you can't pay the cost of removing Wickedness Removed the abiity doesn't work - Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
-
Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
If they are protected from "removal", then wouldn't that just mean that a "removal" special ability wouldn't be able to target them? In which case, they wouldn't be removed or discarded. They would just sit there and the "removal" special ability would do nothing.
-
Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
If they are protected from "removal", then wouldn't that just mean that a "removal" special ability wouldn't be able to target them? In which case, they wouldn't be removed or discarded. They would just sit there and the "removal" special ability would do nothing.
Sorry, what do you mean by 'just sit there?'
-
'just sit there?'
That's the new top secret code word that means CBP, CBI, CBN, Regardless of whether it is Unused, except on the 2nd Thursday of each week.
Just kidding, that isn't technical terminology at all. I just mean that if you play a card that says to "remove", that it wouldn't "remove" anything. Your card would still sit there on the table and would count for numbers, but the special ability wouldn't work :)
-
Depends on the language of the card - With Wickedness Removed it is a cost-benefit ability - And since you can't pay the cost of removing Wickedness Removed the abiity doesn't work - Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
+1
-
Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
+1
This is wrong. If cards couldn't be removed, then JiP would NOT discard them. It would do nothing.
-
Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
+1
This is wrong. If cards couldn't be removed, then JiP would NOT discard them. It would do nothing.
True. However the enhancements still get discarded. Just at the end of battle. ;)
-
So would it effect scapegoat? Scapegoat would just sit there and not even work?
Scapegoat (Teal) - Leviticus 16:10 Teal/Teal HE If used by a Hight Priest, remove this card from the game to negate and discard all evil Enhancements and Curses in play. Cannot be negated.
Ok, nevermind, I see how it works now, this would be a deadly combo if it worked because if Joiada the High Priest brought back scapegoat {(because it is an offering) if it was idscarded instead of removed from the game} every turn teal brigade would potentially get an unlimited negate =).
-
So would it effect scapegoat? Scapegoat would just sit there and not even work?
Scapegoat (Teal) - Leviticus 16:10 Teal/Teal HE If used by a Hight Priest, remove this card from the game to negate and discard all evil Enhancements and Curses in play. Cannot be negated.
Scapegoat would just sit there and do nothing (Protect > CBN). Scapegoat is another Cost-Benefit ability. Therefore, if you can not meet the cost you do not get the benefit.
-
Other cards like an enhancement being removed by Joseph in Prison would be discarded instead.
+1
This is wrong. If cards couldn't be removed, then JiP would NOT discard them. It would do nothing.
Right, Sorry I was confusing Book of the Law with Covenant of Eden. Prof is right - They just chillax there and rock out.
-
Yeah, I was of the same thought before I read Prof's post, and now I see how it works, thatnks for the input.
-
They just chillax there and rock out.
This is our other brand new, top secret, keyword :)