Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on August 31, 2010, 01:56:19 PM

Title: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: DDiceRC on August 31, 2010, 01:56:19 PM
I was looking up the conversion rules for another reason, and found that nowhere in the REG definitions or clarifications, or in the glossary under various terms, does it specifically say demons cannot be converted. I know this is a game rule, but could a clarification be added in the REG for newer players?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on August 31, 2010, 04:18:56 PM
Good idea.  And not only can demons NOT be converted.  They can't be redeemed either (much to Stamp's glee).
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on September 01, 2010, 12:00:24 AM
That rule hasn't been officially anounced yet. (to my knowledge) If it has, please point it out to me.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on September 01, 2010, 02:49:01 PM
That rule hasn't been officially anounced yet. (to my knowledge) If it has, please point it out to me.
It hasn't been announced officially, but everyone was in agreement to announce it after Nats, and so I figured it would be safe to spill the beans :)
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Smokey on September 01, 2010, 02:54:52 PM
Do captured demons count as lost souls? Can I taunt with a captured demon in my LoB and no other souls in play? Do captured demons go somewhere else when captured?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 02, 2010, 03:48:40 PM
So what happens to captured Demons? Are they just chilling?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on September 02, 2010, 05:43:22 PM
So what happens to captured Demons? Are they just chilling?
That would be ironic wouldn't it, for Demons to be "chilling"?  More seriously, I think that they would basically just chill, but I just wanted to get the word out on the overall ruling, I'll let other Elders handle announcing the details :)
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: The_ARk on September 02, 2010, 06:06:15 PM
Would they not be treated as any list soul since their identifier changes to list soul once they are captured?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Nameless on September 02, 2010, 06:08:48 PM
whats a list soul ???
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: The_ARk on September 02, 2010, 06:13:39 PM
Sorry. iPhone is sensitive.

Lost soul.   ;D
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 03, 2010, 10:57:51 PM
guess I'll have to change my quote at the bottom of my post. and lord i hope im not starting anything by saying this but...shouldn't we hope that all creatures could find salvation no matter what form they come in?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Master_Chi on September 13, 2010, 10:27:10 AM
guess I'll have to change my quote at the bottom of my post. and lord i hope im not starting anything by saying this but...shouldn't we hope that all creatures could find salvation no matter what form they come in?

Except that they all made their decision when God kicked them out of Heaven with Mr. Lucifer.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 13, 2010, 10:50:21 AM
doesnt mean we cant hope
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Ammian on October 08, 2010, 04:45:52 PM
Quite true, quite true.  We should always hope.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: DDiceRC on October 08, 2010, 06:49:36 PM
That demons cannot be redeemed would be an interesting ruling. It makes sense theologically, but not in game play.

So.....

If demons can't be redeemed because of theological reasons, even though it violates a game play option, can we revisit the ruling on SoG/NJ and the */4 and NT LSs, which was made for game play reasons even though the majority (it seemed) objected on theological grounds?

I'm not usually a rabble-rouser when it comes to rules, but come on, let's keep it consistent. Either play the cards as they are even if it makes for iffy theology, or play them theologically even though it requires exceptions to the game rules. But do it the same way for all rulings.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 09, 2010, 02:39:34 AM
YOU SAID IT BUB!
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 09, 2010, 06:32:35 AM
Either play the cards as they are even if it makes for iffy theology, or play them theologically even though it requires exceptions to the game rules. But do it the same way for all rulings.
The SoG vs. */4 and NT LSs is not an issue of a gameplay option.  Unfortunately it is an issue of the definition of protection.  We can't allow SoG to rescue a LS that is protected from it, unless we break the definition of protection.

However, rest assured that I brought this issue up on the other side of the board a while back and we have discussed some options that hopefully will come to fruition :)
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: DDiceRC on October 09, 2010, 10:27:06 AM
That's fine, but then wouldn't redeeming a captured demon EC be an issue of the definition of capture, as in a captured character is treated as a LS?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Smokey on October 09, 2010, 10:45:01 AM
Either play the cards as they are even if it makes for iffy theology, or play them theologically even though it requires exceptions to the game rules. But do it the same way for all rulings.
The SoG vs. */4 and NT LSs is not an issue of a gameplay option.  Unfortunately it is an issue of the definition of protection.  We can't allow SoG to rescue a LS that is protected from it, unless we break the definition of protection.

However, rest assured that I brought this issue up on the other side of the board a while back and we have discussed some options that hopefully will come to fruition :)

Make a new Son of God that says "Regardless of protection" as a promo or something.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Master KChief on October 09, 2010, 03:49:23 PM
so its official, demons can be converted?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 11, 2010, 10:30:03 PM
so its official, demons can be converted?
Did you mean to ask a different question?  Demons still can NOT be converted.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Master KChief on October 11, 2010, 10:53:17 PM
source?
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 11, 2010, 11:22:51 PM
source?
Demons haven't been able to be converted for a long time.  If you think that's changed, the onus is on you to provide a source.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: Master KChief on October 12, 2010, 12:52:23 AM
if that's the way it's been for years, then it should be in the rulebook/reg. it's not. if you're claiming demons cannot be converted, then the burden of proof lies upon the person making such a claim, not the other way around.
Title: Re: REG clarificatin on conversion
Post by: sk on October 12, 2010, 03:25:51 AM
Bryon says it is an official rule here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=24.msg279984#msg279984).

The only card that could previously convert a demon was updated to reflect the ruling.  [Sanctifying Faith (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/sanctifyingfaithap.htm)]

Two elders have thus agreed, and there hasn't been a post by an Elder that disagrees.

Although the REG doesn't state the rule, the fact everyone agrees about its existence is probably as good as a REG entry. (And considering most of the members write any REG quotes off due to those three errors, this should be more convincing, anyways.)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal