Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on March 12, 2017, 03:33:05 AM
-
After reading the Redirect rule in the REG I still am not clear on how it works. If I use Treachery of Jezebel and choose to redirect the ability of a special ability (such as Trumpets and Torches: Underdeck an Evil Character), does this mean that I can use the underdecking ability of TaT to underdeck a hero instead of an EC, or do I underdeck another EC somewhere else?
-
Redirect, in my understanding, just lets you choose how the effect resolves, but it doesn't change what the effect does. In the example of Trumpets and Torches, you would still only be able to underdeck an evil character (not a hero) but you'd get to choose the target so you could choose one of your opponent's EC's rather than your EC in battle.
-
What about abilities like confusion? i remember one time i was playing a game and it was mutual destruction. it was my opponent's inish and she played the old confusion. i then played the old CoA. do i just get to choose what card she discards from my deck, or do i get to search her deck and discard a card? i played it as the latter, but, if that's wrong, i'm sure she will be glad to know that ruling, because she was pretty mad about it. ;D
-
From what I recall, redirect allows you to play the Enhancement as if it were your own. If the ability on the Enhancement is mandatory, you must complete it, but it is played from your perspective. If the Enhancement also has numbers, you get those numbers. In Confusion's (prophets) case, you choose to discard a card from your opponent's deck. However, it's been a long time since I've seen a redirect card played. If this isn't true anymore, then someone can correct me.
I always used to play Treachery o' Jezebel back in the day. Solid card. Would be nice to see more redirect abilities in the game. 8)
-
All correct. To visualize it, pick up whatever Enhancement you're redirecting and play it on the character who's redirecting and then resolve it like any other Enhancement you just played.
-
Agreed--the confusing part stems from Treachery and Counsel saying to "Redirect to the Evil Character/Hero of your choice" so people think "Oh, he played a discard an Evil Character card, so I can play Treachery and redirect that to discard a Hero," which is not the case. You simply play the redirected card "against" the Hero so you get to use the ability & numbers instead of the opponent.
-
Agreed--the confusing part stems from Treachery and Counsel saying to "Redirect to the Evil Character/Hero of your choice" so people think "Oh, he played a discard an Evil Character card, so I can play Treachery and redirect that to discard a Hero," which is not the case. You simply play the redirected card "against" the Hero so you get to use the ability & numbers instead of the opponent.
Ok so practical example I used: Would I be under decking one of his other evil characters in his territory (or mine) if I played Treachery?
-
You could underdeck any EC that was a valid target (yours or his). If he had no ECs in play then you would need to underdeck one of your own since T&T is not an optional ability.
-
K thanks. I see why Treachery received errata.
-
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I wanted to ask if in special initiative you can redirect the battlewinner that is removing you to a character other than the one the battlewinner was played on, and continue the battle.
Using Watchman's example, if Gideon plays Trumpets and Torches against Leviathan (the only EC in battle), then can Treachery of Jezebel be played to redirect Trumpets and Torches to another [EDIT: Evil Character] in play and the battle continues on with Leviathan now winning by the numbers?
-
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I wanted to ask if in special initiative you can redirect the battlewinner that is removing you to a character other than the one the battlewinner was played on, and continue the battle.
Using Watchman's example, if Gideon plays Trumpets and Torches against Leviathan (the only EC in battle), then can Treachery of Jezebel be played to redirect Trumpets and Torches to another Hero in play and the battle continues on with Leviathan now winning by the numbers?
To play a card during SI, it doesn't have to necessarily save you, it just has to be able to interrupt the ability removing your character. Since ToJ can do that, you can play it during SI.
-
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I wanted to ask if in special initiative you can redirect the battlewinner that is removing you to a character other than the one the battlewinner was played on, and continue the battle.
Using Watchman's example, if Gideon plays Trumpets and Torches against Leviathan (the only EC in battle), then can Treachery of Jezebel be played to redirect Trumpets and Torches to another Hero in play and the battle continues on with Leviathan now winning by the numbers?
As a point of clarification, you can redirect T&T to another Evil Character (not Hero) thereby keeping Leviathan in battle. If Leviathan happened to be the only Evil Character in play then redirecting it would essentially have no effect.
-
Right, gotcha, that's true - I was meaning would Trumpets and Torches be completely stopped since it was redirected...I assume the answer is yes...so in this scenario a redirect is better than a negate because it does 2 things:
1) stops T & T from underdecking Leviathan
2) underdecks one of the attacking player's evil characters (if possible)
Thanks guys - I think I'm finally understanding Redirect! It actually can be really useful!