Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on August 18, 2010, 09:32:08 AM

Title: RBD and Gifts
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 18, 2010, 09:32:08 AM
if I somehow found a way to activate Rain Becomes Dust and Gifts of the Magi, and they drew some cards, would they be discarded and I'd get to draw, or just discarded?
Title: Re: RBD and Gifts
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 18, 2010, 09:48:00 AM
to answer your question- no one knows and are still trying to figure it out. RBD is an instead ability and i would say no you dont draw b/c opponent didnt.

Rain Becomes Dust (Pi)
Type: Curse • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: All cards that an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent are revealed instead. Place all revealed Lost Souls in opponent’s territory. Discard the rest. • Play As: If an opponent activates a draw special ability, reveal the cards instead. Place all revealed Lost Souls in opponent’s territory and discard the rest. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Deuteronomy 28:24 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Uncommon)

Gifts of the Magi (F)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each time an opponent draws a card because of a special ability on a character or enhancement, holder may draw a card. • Play As: When an opponent draws because of a special ability on a character or enhancement, you may draw up to an equal number of cards. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Matthew 2:11 • Availability: F Deck



Title: Re: RBD and Gifts
Post by: Professoralstad on August 18, 2010, 10:38:57 AM
Yeah, I'm pretty sure we're going to have to take a long hard look at instead abilities to resolve several questions. Currently, I would say that you do get to draw from Gifts, the same way you can use I am Holy and Chamber. The way I see instead is as follows: The ability that gets insteaded does happen, but the result is different than it usually would be. So in this example, you do draw the cards with RBD active, but the result is that instead of them going into your hand, they are revealed and discarded/placed in LoB. But like I said, the whole ability needs to be examined before a definite answer can be made.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal