Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Isildur on August 17, 2009, 10:48:09 PM
-
Ok when you play Raising Lazarus where does the hero go? Does it go to territory or can you place it into battle? I would personaly rule it as you can place the hero into battle but what is the real ruling?
Raising Lazarus
1/1 Multicolor
"One hero from pottersfield is brought back into play."
John some thing anouther
Can Jahaziel son of Zech. work with Potter Field? (The sa is really long so I wont post it cause im lazy and hes the 9/10 red dude from the priests)
-
Ok when you play Raising Lazarus where does the hero go? Does it go to territory or can you place it into battle? I would personaly rule it as you can place the hero into battle but what is the real ruling?
Raising Lazarus
1/1 Multicolor
"One hero from pottersfield is brought back into play.When playing against the Warrior in RTS,Cannot Band in Phinies son of eli from potters field"
John some thing anouther
FIXED ;D
-
Hehehehe woops
-
For the first question, don't ask me for an REG quote, but I'm pretty sure I saw somewhere in there once that "put in play" by default means "put in territory." I may have made this up subconsciously, however. ...
For your second question,
Type: Fortress Brigade: Multicolor Ability: None Class: None Special Ability: Set this site aside. Holder's Heroes to be discarded are instead placed in this Site. Treat them as discarded Heroes. Play As: Set this fortress aside. Holder's Heroes to be discarded are placed here instead. Identifiers: Holds any number of discarded Heroes Verse: Matthew 27:7 Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)
I didn't know there was a play as on this, but apparently you don't have to treat those guys as discarded heroes anymore, so go ahead!
-
Woah! I didn't know that play as existed either!
-
Quote from: REG
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this site aside. Holder's Heroes to be discarded are instead placed in this Site. Treat them as discarded Heroes. • Play As: Set this fortress aside. Holder's Heroes to be discarded are placed here instead. • Identifiers: Holds any number of discarded Heroes • Verse: Matthew 27:7 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)
but apparently you don't have to treat those guys as discarded heroes anymore
Why aren't they treated as discarded Heroes exactly?
-
Well, it appears to me that the only change made by the play as was that the "Treat them as discarded Heroes" clause was eliminated. If we still have to treat them as discarded heroes, what the heck was the point of the play as?
-
Differentiating between the special ability and the identifier would be my guess, but I'm not the one who made the change so I'm not certain.
A minor change was obviously to correct that Potter's Field is not a Site but a Fortress.
-
Hey,
What exactly did the "treat them as discarded heroes" clause on Potter's Field do? I don't think it actually did anything, so removing it shouldn't really matter.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Actually, I think it does matter. Just like you can't band in a captured Hero from Raider's Camp with a regular banding card, I don't think you can band in a discarded Hero that is still in the set-aside area with a regular banding card.
-
what "regular" banding enhancements let you band in characters from set aside anyways?
-
I realize there aren't any of those right now, but I don't think Persian Presidents could capture a "discarded Hero" for example.
-
You guys noticed the entry into the identifiers field. Potter's Field holds discarded heroes. That works just as effectively as in the special ability section.
Am I missing something?
Mike
-
Not at all--there's nothing wrong with the play as. In fact, I believe it's best in the identifier so its consistent with other Fortresses.
-
Now how about his other question?
Can "put into play" put cards into battle?
-
No.
Mike
-
Ok so, I just realized something.
You all said Potters Field only holds "Discarded Heroes" correct? Well, how do any of the cards that mention Potter's Field work?
Example:
Return all silver brigade Heroes from all discard piles and Potter’s Fields to their owner's territories.
You said we cant place enhancements on heroes in PF because they are "Discarded Heroes"... how do all these cards work then when they target "heroes"?
Heroes in PF apparently still have brigade, they are targeted by cards they target heroes... why doesnt the red placer dude work?