Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Kenesen on May 23, 2012, 01:34:27 PM
-
ok so i have a question if my friend has rain to dust active and i use mayhem does that make me discard everything i drew or do i get to keep it?
-
I believe you discard everything you drew off of mayhem.
-
see thats what i think too but me and my friend were confused
-
Rain Becomes Dust (Pi)
Type: Curse • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: All cards that an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent are revealed instead. Place all revealed Lost Souls in opponent’s territory. Discard the rest.
Mayhem (TP)
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six.
If you play Mayhem, or control any ability that has you draw cards, they are instead revealed and discarded (Lost Souls go to play). You do not replace any cards that are Lost Souls, they just go to play and you discard whatever wasn't a soul.
Everyone learns this the hard way eventually. Always check to see who has RBD up before playing Mayhem, because you are most certainly not protected ;)
-
Rain Becomes Dust (Pi)
Type: Curse • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: All cards that an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent are revealed instead. Place all revealed Lost Souls in opponent’s territory. Discard the rest.
Mayhem (TP)
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six.
If you play Mayhem, or control any ability that has you draw cards, they are instead revealed and discarded (Lost Souls go to play). You do not replace any cards that are Lost Souls, they just go to play and you discard whatever wasn't a soul.
Everyone learns this the hard way eventually. Always check to see who has RBD up before playing Mayhem, because you are most certainly not protected ;)
the only time when this doesn't work is when the holder of rain becomes dust also uses meyhem. it's the same as when they have rain becomes dust active and they make a rescue attempt with Hur. it won't work case RBD's ability clearly states that it only targets the cards that the opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent
-
yep. RBD would be dumb otherwise.
-
Yeah the confusion comes from the fact that mayhem affects both players hands but it is a draw ability regardless.
-
Either way, you are still playing it. RbD doesn't really have anything to do that it affects all players' hands, just who played it.
-
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fflorosdimitris.files.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F10%2Fallstate-mayhem.jpg%3Fw%3D515%26amp%3Bh%3D289&hash=cf22d373d2fd34de6f3f4e4cb2e0213f95ab09a6)
-
I can just imagine it now
Allstate Man
3/3 Multi Hero
Allstate Commercial - No one protects you like Alstate.
Protect Hand and Deck from Mayhem, and this card from guys in suits. Cannot be negated.
-
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fflorosdimitris.files.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F10%2Fallstate-mayhem.jpg%3Fw%3D515%26amp%3Bh%3D289&hash=cf22d373d2fd34de6f3f4e4cb2e0213f95ab09a6)
that was so gold right there lol
-
Either way, you are still playing it. RbD doesn't really have anything to do that it affects all players' hands, just who played it.
yeah I know I was just explaining where the confusion came from.
-
just to make sure, if the opponent has RBD on and u use Mayhem, both discard the new hand they draw, correct?
-
RBD only effects opponents
-
it says drawing USED by opponent tho. so if the opponent made it happen, it would discard it I would think.
-
it says drawing USED by opponent tho. so if the opponent made it happen, it would discard it I would think.
But look at the ability again:
Rain Becomes Dust (Pi)
Type: Curse • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: All cards that an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent are revealed instead. Place all revealed Lost Souls in opponent’s territory. Discard the rest.
It only targets cards "an opponent draws because of a special ability used by that opponent". If a player uses Mayhem while RBD is up, and it is not their RBD, they are the only ones that RBD affects.
-
ok. i see now. thanks.