Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Isildur on March 05, 2009, 07:58:07 PM
-
The Rabsaris Attacks is played oppenent has 0 cards in his deck, what happens?
-
Without knowing the SA I would assume that if you can't pay the alternate cost then that portion isn't an option. Kind of like Jephthah, if you can't discard your top card you don't get to use the rest of his SA.
-
Discard a Hero in battle or set-aside area. Opponent may discard the top five cards of deck instead. Place Lost Souls in play instead. Cannot be negated if used by The Rabsaris.
I would assume that it would be Cannot be negated. As said, if you can't pay the price, you can't take the action.
-
I agree with Scottie. In fact, if the opponent has 4 or fewer (not just 0), he can't save the Hero.
-
Discard a Hero in battle or set-aside area. Opponent may discard the top five cards of deck instead. Place Lost Souls in play instead. Cannot be negated if used by The Rabsaris.
Doesn't the "may" make it only an option, making it an as-much-as-possible type of deal?
BTW, isn't it only CBN on The Rabsaris? Seems to me that the alternate isn't a form of negate, but rather a change of target, right?
-
Doesn't the "may" make it only an option, making it an as-much-as-possible type of deal?
I think the "instead" is the key word, rather than "may." If you cannot discard five cards, then you cannot choose the "instead."
-
When played against me I generally choose not to do the first "instead" since it says "may". But I do have to do the second "instead" since it doesn't say "may" which is nice to get all those lost souls that are out of play and put them back in play AND save my hero.
:P