Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on November 02, 2011, 05:57:21 PM

Title: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 02, 2011, 05:57:21 PM
A converted Character retains abilities. Does it lose its special abilities?
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: Chronic Apathy on November 02, 2011, 06:01:58 PM
That depends. An evil character converted to a Hero retains its abilities unless an ability can harm another hero.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 02, 2011, 06:05:16 PM
Makes sense.

So I'm going to go ahead and assume that:

Evil Banding is out of the question
Negating/Interrupting/Preventing good cards is out. (or is it?)
Discarding/Capturing/Removing Heroes is out.

And from there we proceed to something of a case-on-case basis.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: Red Wing on November 02, 2011, 06:06:32 PM
A converted Character retains abilities. Does it lose its special abilities?
The abilities stay the same on converted characters. A converted Evil Character retains special abilities unless it does something un-heroic like if it said "discard a hero", it would lose that ability. A Hero loses its Special ability, regardless of the special abilities nature when converted to an EC.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 02, 2011, 06:09:02 PM
Huh. That's interesting.

Thank you very much, Redwing!
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on November 03, 2011, 12:43:08 PM
That's not true, actually. A Hero will always lose his SA when converted to an EC. An EC will retain its ability unless it targets a Hero specifically, not to be confused with a SA that could potentially target a Hero. For example, an SA that says "Discard a Hero" would not convert, but a SA that says "Discard a Character" would. A SA that says "Negate a Hero" would not convert, but one that says "Negate all Characters" would.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 03, 2011, 10:06:52 PM
Pardon me, Minister Polarius, but isn't that what Redwing said?
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: lightningninja on November 03, 2011, 10:35:33 PM
Pardon me, Minister Polarius, but isn't that what Redwing said?
I'm assuming yes, he might have thought when Redwing said "abilities stay the same," which means */*, not special ability.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 03, 2011, 11:00:13 PM
But Redwing did mention that thing about the Special Abilities.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on November 07, 2011, 05:13:37 PM
It's not the same thing he said. "Un-heroic-like" is not the criterion, targeting a Hero is.
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: The Warrior on November 07, 2011, 05:19:58 PM
A converted Character retains abilities. Does it lose its special abilities?
only if that Character is 20% Cooler than the rest in play
Title: Re: Quick Conversion Question
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 07, 2011, 08:13:33 PM
Sadly, Saint Rainbow Dash has not been made a card yet.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal