Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on September 12, 2014, 11:39:12 AM
-
Solomon's temple (new version) SA: If a Solomon's temple priest , king of Judah or Solomon is captured or discarded by an opponent's Special ability , you may discard a teal card from hand instead.
Example: What if a Solomon's temple priest was in battle with an EC , then the EC plays a "discard all cards in battle including yours" ability and then the player that is rescuing using the instead ability?
1. If you use an instead ability in general while your character is in battle , like Solomon's temple and Herod's temple does your character stay in battle or return to territory?
2. Lets say the answer was your character stays in battle , in the example above can the EC now negate or interrupt their own enhancement? or are they just discarded?
-
1. Stays in battle
2. No, the Evil Character cannot interrupt its own ability
-
To add to #2:
Special Initiative
When you are losing the battle by removal, you are granted special initiative to play an Enhancement that will interrupt or negate the card that is causing your charact’s removal. You are considered to be losing by removal when an opponent’s special ability, or a game rule that has been triggered by an opponent’s special ability, would leave you with no character in battle when the special ability has completed.
The reason you cannot do anything about the removal is because it is your own card. You only get Special Initiative (which would be needed in this case) to interrupt/negate a source your opponent controls.
-
If the ability said discard all cards in battle would it be able to complete if you instead one of the discards? Would all require all or none?
-
If the ability said discard all cards in battle would it be able to complete if you instead one of the discards? Would all require all or none?
I believe it'd be a "to as much as you can" scenario.
-
what about an ignore, would that give special initiative?
-
Ignore does not give special initiative because it does not remove any characters from battle.