Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: FresnoRedemption on August 04, 2009, 04:53:30 PM

Title: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: FresnoRedemption on August 04, 2009, 04:53:30 PM
I was playing someone yesterday who decided to play Harvest Time right in the middle of my card draw. I'm almost certain he played Harvest Time as I drew my third card (which was the Revealer Lost Soul) and played it. Again, Harvest Time states it can only be played when your opponent has no Lost Souls, then he gets to go through my deck, get a Lost Soul, and put it into play. My questions are thus:

1) Does the card draw count as a particular action? For instance, can a Dominant played interrupt a card draw or does the card draw have to finish first?

2) Also, if he played the Dominant as I drew my third card, would Harvest Time take effect first or would I have to play the Lost Soul first?

3) If there's a tie (i.e. he played Harvest Time at the same time I played the Lost Soul), who does the tie go to? I think I remember that tie goes to the person whose turn it is currently.
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: The Schaef on August 04, 2009, 05:02:09 PM
He has to wait for you to finish drawing, for exactly this reason.  A nice judge will say, pick that back up.  A firm judge will say, pick that back up and slow down.  A mean judge will say, ha ha, sucker, you wasted your Dominant.

That basically wipes out your second and third question.
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: Kevin Shride on August 04, 2009, 05:10:50 PM
Actually, Schaef, as the rules state, if you play a dominant when you are not allowed to, the dominant is returned to your hand.  Just ask Sam Nurge.

Hi, Sam!   ;)

Kevin Shride
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: FresnoRedemption on August 04, 2009, 05:43:08 PM
He has to wait for you to finish drawing, for exactly this reason.  A nice judge will say, pick that back up.  A firm judge will say, pick that back up and slow down.  A mean judge will say, ha ha, sucker, you wasted your Dominant.

That basically wipes out your second and third question.

That's what I thought. He's an ex-Magic: The Gathering player, and I keep trying to drill it into his head that there are no fast-effects in this game. :D
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: The Schaef on August 04, 2009, 06:29:46 PM
This is why I take everything so seriously.  I do humor and people take me seriously.
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: lightningninja on August 04, 2009, 08:03:35 PM
This is why I take everything so seriously.  I do humor and people take me seriously.
:rollin:
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: FresnoRedemption on August 05, 2009, 02:28:34 AM
Actually, Schaef, as the rules state, if you play a dominant when you are not allowed to, the dominant is returned to your hand.  Just ask Sam Nurge.

Hi, Sam!   ;)

Kevin Shride

I met Sam and Kevin at Nationals last week. :D
Title: Re: Question about the timing of Dominants
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 05, 2009, 02:43:09 AM
This is why I take everything so seriously.  I do humor and people take me seriously.
ROFFLE ROFFLE ROFFLE GOOD 1 SCHEAF!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal