Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Chronic Apathy on August 02, 2009, 03:28:10 PM

Title: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: Chronic Apathy on August 02, 2009, 03:28:10 PM
There's a battle. I play "Royal Parade" and my opponent plays "Moses Kills Egyptian". I play "Five Smooth Stones". Does the "Can't Be Prevented" Lost Soul he has in play keep me from negating his enhancement?

Quote
Royal Parade Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 1 / 1 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by royalty, interrupt the battle and ignore one Evil Character. • Identifiers: OT, Connected with David • Verse: II

Quote
Moses kills Egyptian Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Gold • Ability: 0 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle and set aside any opponent's male Hero in play for 5 turns. Then return the Hero to owner's territory.

Quote
Five Smooth Stones Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate the last evil enhancement played in current battle.

Quote
Type: Lost Soul • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Unless a Covenant is in play, the first evil Enhancement you play each battle cannot be prevented by a good card.
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: Kor on August 02, 2009, 03:30:35 PM
No.
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 02, 2009, 03:31:59 PM
No.

Correct. If something cannot be prevented, it can still be negated.
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on August 02, 2009, 03:34:25 PM
Is there a reason why? I am just trying to understand.
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: Professoralstad on August 02, 2009, 03:36:07 PM
"Cannot be prevented" only means the ability can't be stopped beforehand. Anything that can interrupt and prevent, or negate, can stop it afterward.

So Five Smooth Stones would stop Moses Kills Egyptian.
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on August 02, 2009, 03:39:02 PM
As long as you can interupt the prevent you can stop it?
Title: Re: Question about the CBP LS
Post by: Professoralstad on August 02, 2009, 03:44:22 PM
Here's how it breaks down:

(CBI = Cannot be Interrupted, CBP = Cannot be Prevented, CBN = Cannot be Negated)

If I play a CBI, you can't stop it after it's played, but you can stop it beforehand (with say, The Strong Angel)
If I play a CBP, you can't stop it before it's played, but you can stop it afterward (with Five Smooth Stones, etc.)
If I play a CBN, you can't stop it before or after.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal