Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: FresnoRedemption on April 12, 2009, 02:42:59 PM

Title: Question about Negating an Action
Post by: FresnoRedemption on April 12, 2009, 02:42:59 PM
Okay, folks, here's the situation:

I make a rescue attempt with a Hero (specific hero is irrelevant, but he's Gold Brigade), and my opponent defends with an Evil Character (specific evil character is irrelevant). I play Taking Egypt's Wealth on my hero (4/2 Gold Enhancement, Look at opponent's hand and take one enhancement there into your hand.) Lets say that playing the enhancement on my hero would now give him initiative. My question is two-fold:

1) He has a card which negates and discards Taking Egypt's Wealth. Can he play the card to negate Taking Egypt's Wealth's ability before I look at his hand and take an enhancement there into his hand?

2) Also, if he has a card which interrupts the battle (or the Special Ability on Taking Egypt's Wealth), can he play that before I look at his hand and take a card into his hand, or would he have to wait until I looked at his hand, took a card, then interrupted the battle or the special ability?
Title: Re: Question about Negating an Action
Post by: cforce44 on April 12, 2009, 03:05:12 PM
Okay, folks, here's the situation:

I make a rescue attempt with a Hero (specific hero is irrelevant, but he's Gold Brigade), and my opponent defends with an Evil Character (specific evil character is irrelevant). I play Taking Egypt's Wealth on my hero (4/2 Gold Enhancement, Look at opponent's hand and take one enhancement there into your hand.) Lets say that playing the enhancement on my hero would now give him initiative. My question is two-fold:

1) He has a card which negates and discards Taking Egypt's Wealth. Can he play the card to negate Taking Egypt's Wealth's ability before I look at his hand and take an enhancement there into his hand?

2) Also, if he has a card which interrupts the battle (or the Special Ability on Taking Egypt's Wealth), can he play that before I look at his hand and take a card into his hand, or would he have to wait until I looked at his hand, took a card, then interrupted the battle or the special ability?

For both 1 & 2 your opponent has to wait for Taking Egypt's Wealth's special ability completes before he can play ANY card. Once you look at your opponent's hand and then take an enhancement, then and only then may your opponent play a card. So smart choice may be to take the card that negates Taking Egypt's Wealth.
Title: Re: Question about Negating an Action
Post by: FresnoRedemption on April 12, 2009, 03:29:01 PM
Thanks! Yeah, I thought that's what had to happen, but I just wanted to make sure. It usually happened that way. A friend of mine likes to play Assyrians and has three capture cards in his deck. I like to take one of them with Taking Egypt's Wealth, but sometimes I'd see Misuse of Talents (which can negate and discard it), so I wind up taking that card, then letting my hero get captured.
Title: Re: Question about Negating an Action
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 12, 2009, 03:56:58 PM
Then it's time to add Covenant of Palestine to your deck.  ;D
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal