Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minion of Jesus on July 02, 2013, 10:23:54 PM

Title: Question
Post by: Minion of Jesus on July 02, 2013, 10:23:54 PM
When Goliath taunts, does the first part of his ability affect the hero that first enters battle? (Return all heroes in battle to territory, except giant-slayers. Opponent may present a new hero. Negate all play, band, and draw abilities.)
Title: Re: Question
Post by: soul seeker on July 02, 2013, 10:26:34 PM
I don't think so, because the grammar would indicate that it returns heroes that are already in battle not the ones yet to enter.
Title: Re: Question
Post by: Drrek on July 02, 2013, 10:27:47 PM
When Goliath taunts he enters battle, at that point his ability activates.  He kicks all heroes out of battle right then (when no hero has been presented).  Then the opponent can choose whether to accept the taunt.
Title: Re: Question
Post by: ChristianSoldier on July 02, 2013, 10:28:12 PM
First of all if you are Taunting with Goliath, you are playing him wrong (this is somewhat of a joke, but all the times my opponent has taunted me have ended in my advantage).

Secondly no, it only activates the moment you are enter battle, so it won't affect any heroes that enter battle.
Title: Re: Question
Post by: Redoubter on July 02, 2013, 11:37:19 PM
First of all if you are Taunting with Goliath, you are playing him wrong (this is somewhat of a joke, but all the times my opponent has taunted me have ended in my advantage).

My favorite was when the opponent to my right yelled "I'm calling you out!" and pushed him at me to taunt in multi (yes, there were no souls in any of his opponents' territories).  Playing Disciples, I accepted and AoCP'd his face.  Good times...good times...
Title: Re: Question
Post by: Korunks on July 03, 2013, 09:08:54 AM
First of all if you are Taunting with Goliath, you are playing him wrong (this is somewhat of a joke, but all the times my opponent has taunted me have ended in my advantage).

My favorite was when the opponent to my right yelled "I'm calling you out!" and pushed him at me to taunt in multi (yes, there were no souls in any of his opponents' territories).  Playing Disciples, I accepted and AoCP'd his face.  Good times...good times...

I said it then and I still say it now.  It was worth it for the look on everyone's faces and the laughter that followed, good times indeed.
Title: Re: Question
Post by: browarod on July 03, 2013, 10:02:33 AM
What happens if I "block" taunting Goliath with Joseph and play Joseph Before Pharaoh to capture him to opponent's LoB CBN. Does it become a rescue attempt?
Title: Re: Question
Post by: Professoralstad on July 03, 2013, 11:57:21 AM
What happens if I "block" taunting Goliath with Joseph and play Joseph Before Pharaoh to capture him to opponent's LoB CBN. Does it become a rescue attempt?

No. You can't make a rescue attempt on your opponent's turn. You will win the Taunt, however.
Title: Re: Question
Post by: browarod on July 03, 2013, 12:14:33 PM
What happens if I "block" taunting Goliath with Joseph and play Joseph Before Pharaoh to capture him to opponent's LoB CBN. Does it become a rescue attempt?

No. You can't make a rescue attempt on your opponent's turn. You will win the Taunt, however.
Darn. ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal