Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on December 21, 2009, 11:53:53 AM
-
If you have a character(s) protected from discard (or from effects in general) either due to their own effect or due to something like a protection fortress, what happens if you play a card with a cost that requires you to discard them (or otherwise affect them in a way they're protected from)? We know from Primary Objective/Sinning Hand and their ilk that you can discard a hand of 0 to satisfy their costs, so (for example) can you discard 0 evil characters in battle to satisfy the cost on Death of Unrighteous?
Hopefully my question makes sense :P.
-
You can't target something that is protected from the ability. Therefore, you couldn't try to discard to do X.
-
+1 if you are unable to do the first part, you can't do the second part. It is do this to do that. If you can't do this, you do that. But you can get with this, or you can get with that, though XD
-
Death of Unrighteous doesn't target a character, it targets a location (like Primary Objective), so if the only evil characters in battle are protected why would you not be able to discard 0 to satisfy (like Primary Objective)?
-
Hey,
Death of Unrighteous does not have a cost benefit ability. It shuffles lost souls and sites and discards evil characters. Those are two independent abilities. The shuffle is not contingent on the discard.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Death of Unrighteous does not have a cost benefit ability. It shuffles lost souls and sites and discards evil characters. Those are two independent abilities. The shuffle is not contingent on the discard.
So, I can play it on a Pale Green EC that is protected from discard, and it will still shuffle the LS's and sites?
-
So, I can play it on a Pale Green EC that is protected from discard, and it will still shuffle the LS's and sites?
Yes, but since the EC will remain in play, the possibility exists that the hero might gain initiative and then be able to negate DoU, thus losing one of the strengths of playing it to begin with. Normally, that is basically a CBI EE.
-
CoN takes care of it for me... ;)
-
The last time I checked CoN couldn't negate DoU as after its ability completes it is no longer in play, and thus can't be targeted by CoN - Has this changed?
-
CoN cannot negate DoU. When the EC is discarded, the hero does not gain any type of initiative.
-
Not even used as an aritfact?
-
Nope. You can't target the d/c pile if the ability doesn't specify such.
-
Nope. You can't target the d/c pile if the ability doesn't specify such.
I Disagree, because DoN can negate Unholy writ after it has been discarded, and it does not specify discard pile either. I think you can use CoN to negate DoU.
-
Nope. You can't target the d/c pile if the ability doesn't specify such.
I Disagree, because DoN can negate Unholy writ after it has been discarded, and it does not specify discard pile either. I think you can use CoN to negate DoU.
Nope, they are right, you cannot target the discard pile with CoM. For that matter, DoN also can't negate UW after it's been used either.
-
My friend plays it that he is supposed to get a chance to negate it before you choose to use it. Like if i use UW i have to make sure that he isn't gonna play DoN before I use it.
-
Nope, they are right, you cannot target the discard pile with CoM. For that matter, DoN also can't negate UW after it's been used either.
Actually I believe it was ruled that DoN CAN target Unholy Writ after use but It will have to wait until tomorrow for me to find the threads.
-
Nope. You can't target the d/c pile if the ability doesn't specify such.
I Disagree, because DoN can negate Unholy writ after it has been discarded, and it does not specify discard pile either. I think you can use CoN to negate DoU.
Nope, they are right, you cannot target the discard pile with CoM. For that matter, DoN also can't negate UW after it's been used either.
+1 100%
Nope, they are right, you cannot target the discard pile with CoM. For that matter, DoN also can't negate UW after it's been used either.
Actually I believe it was ruled that DoN CAN target Unholy Writ after use but It will have to wait until tomorrow for me to find the threads.
This idea goes against one of the key foundations of Redemption rules that I, Prof, or RDT would have heard about. After a brief search, I could find no such ruling.
-
Here's the ruling/clarification (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18820.0), which actually agrees with Cameron & Prof Underwood.
DoN only negate an artifact if the artifact it is trying to negate was discarded by DoN itself.
-
Apparently I misunderstood some things being said here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18479.0) and here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18641.0). I retract my statement. I can't keep up with all these changes in the game, not without a reliable way to keep track of them I have to hunt through pages of old post's to even remember what was being said when it was said :P