Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arch Angel on July 25, 2009, 06:13:03 PM

Title: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: Arch Angel on July 25, 2009, 06:13:03 PM
Protection of Jerusalem
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside two silver brigade Heroes. Holder chooses one Fortress site that cannot be discarded while Heroes are set-aside. When Heroes return to territory, discard set-aside. • Play As: Set aside two silver brigade Heroes. Holder chooses one Fortress to protect from discard while both Heroes are set-aside. When one or both Heroes return to territory, discard set-aside.


If I only have 1 Silver hero in play, can I still use PoJ for it's full effect? I ask because of the "do as much as you can" ruling. If there's only 1 silver hero to target, then would setting aside only 1 hero fulfill the requirement to protect a fort?
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: sk on July 25, 2009, 06:14:44 PM
No.  The "set aside 2 heroes" is the cost, which must be completed in full.  The benefit (protection) is what the "as much as you can" applies to.
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: FresnoRedemption on July 25, 2009, 06:19:59 PM
No.  The "set aside 2 heroes" is the cost, which must be completed in full.  The benefit (protection) is what the "as much as you can" applies to.

 +1 Basically, you MUST set aside 2 heroes, but the "as much as you can" rule applies to the fortresses. You can play the card with no fortresses in play and then protect no fortresses. But if you do that, I'm fairly certain you couldn't target a fortress that enters play after Protection of Jersualem was played, and your Heroes set aside.
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: sk on July 25, 2009, 06:21:14 PM
I'm fairly certain you couldn't target a fortress that enters play after Protection of Jersualem was played, and your Heroes set aside.

Correct.
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: Arch Angel on July 25, 2009, 06:31:33 PM
That's what I figured, but it was worth a shot.
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: FresnoRedemption on July 25, 2009, 06:32:52 PM
No harm in asking. :)
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: lightningninja on July 25, 2009, 08:09:22 PM
There are two abilities. Do X. Do Y.

The card does not say, Do X to do Y.

EDIT: AKA, I'm not so sure about the above rulings.
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: sk on July 25, 2009, 08:14:56 PM
Ye dare question me?  ;)

What the cards says is more like: "Do X.  As long as X is happening, Y happens."
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: lightningninja on July 25, 2009, 08:15:41 PM
No, I don't think so. Anyone official wanna comment?  ;D
Title: Re: Protection of Jerusalem
Post by: SirNobody on July 26, 2009, 12:58:22 AM
Hey,

Pretty much all set asides (including Protection of Jerusalem) function as cost/benefit abilities even though they don't use standard cost/benefit language.  Sk is correct.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal