Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jtay on December 12, 2009, 09:59:38 PM

Title: Protection forts
Post by: jtay on December 12, 2009, 09:59:38 PM
Do evil protection forts only protect characters from discard abilities or from being discarded in general?  As in, what would happen if I played Plague of Flies and a protected evil character in territory had a toughness of */6 or less?

Plague of Flies
All Evil Characters in play decrease 6/6 for remainder of turn. If result is 0/0 or less discard character(s).

Assyrian Camp (for example)
Protect Assyrian Evil Characters in your territory from discard, conversion, and capture unless King Hezekiah is in play or set aside.
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: faithraider on December 12, 2009, 10:36:48 PM
The fort you mentioned would protect assyrians in your territory from PoF but not the ones in battle.   Its very improtant to pay attention to where characters are in order to establish how a particular ability is effecting them.



Faithraider
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: BubbleBoy on December 12, 2009, 11:27:35 PM
Actually, if your opponent plays Plague of Flies in battle on Assyrian Archer for example, once the battle is over he'll go back to his territory, where he is re-protected and cannot be discarded. At least, that's how I've been told it was played. However, you appear to be a playtester, so I would expect you to know what you were talking about...
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on December 12, 2009, 11:31:22 PM
Being reduced below 0 in battle does not kill characters. I am 99.99% sure about this.
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 12, 2009, 11:35:42 PM
Being reduced below 0 in battle does not kill characters. I am 99.99% sure about this.

+1
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: jtay on December 12, 2009, 11:43:22 PM
Being reduced below 0 in battle does not kill characters. I am 99.99% sure about this.

I knew this as well.  I was just hoping that I was on my way to finding a way around protection forts.  I would really like to see numbers as being more important than for just the initial initiative check or FBTN.
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on December 12, 2009, 11:44:43 PM
I do know reduction as a defensive tactic can be pretty useful, as it bypasses a LOT of hero anti-discard protection, which is only against Special Abilities.
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: SirNobody on December 13, 2009, 03:37:53 PM
Hey,

Being reduced below 0 in battle does not kill characters. I am 99.99% sure about this.

While being reduced below 0 toughness does not kill a character instantly during battle, it does make it more challenging for the character to survive battle resolution.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: Warrior_Monk on December 13, 2009, 04:06:06 PM
Being reduced below 0 in battle does not kill characters. I am 99.99% sure about this.
even if it says to discard the character?
Title: Re: Protection forts
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on December 13, 2009, 04:14:36 PM
Yes, that is just explaining the ability. Like nero or POTW
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal