Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Michael_of_the_Star on July 22, 2016, 10:28:38 PM

Title: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on July 22, 2016, 10:28:38 PM
Hello,

    So Angel Under the Oak protects Gideon from opponents and Gideon bands to Gideon's Army and the other player blocked with 12 finger Giant. Does the negate banding negates Gideon's banding to Gideon's Army? Or the protection from Angel Under the Oak protect Gideon's ability as well? Thank you.

Michael Leung
Title: Re: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: kariusvega on July 22, 2016, 10:32:24 PM
The band is negated because the protection targets the card (auto to Gideon) but negate targets the ability (band ability).
Title: Re: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on July 22, 2016, 10:37:44 PM
Thank you, I know, but I just want to make sure. And also may I ask is it true that after national, Immune ability is going to be consider as protect? Thank you.

Michael Leung
Title: Re: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: kram1138 on July 22, 2016, 10:41:06 PM
It isn't official yet, last I heard. It was proposed to the community for feedback.
Title: Re: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: SignoftheStar on July 24, 2016, 10:44:34 PM
Immune and protect mean the same thing. They share an entry in the REG:
Quote
Immune and protect abilities keep the target from being affected by the strength on cards to which it is immune
or protected, keep the target from being able to be targeted by cards to which it is immune or protected, and also
allow it to be unaffected by game rules which would normally affect it.

Confusingly, however, the REG also includes the following:
Quote
Immune and protect are targeted separately by abilities based on the name of the ability referenced. A card
that negates immunity will not negate protection, and a card that is regardless of protection will not be able to
affect an immune target.

So immune abilities and protect abilities differ in one thing only: name. Everything about how they work and how they're played is exactly the same, but a card that negates immune abilities does not negate protect abilities, and vice versa, and "regardless of protection" does not mean "regardless of immunity".


Which is just plain silly, if you ask me.
Title: Re: Protect vs. Negate
Post by: Redoubter on July 24, 2016, 11:08:49 PM
They used to mean different things and even when they were basically the same, still had their own entries until very recently.

Having them be interchangeable has been a discussion for a long time, and we recently posted that for feedback as we finalize coming rules reviews (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/feedback-welcome-immune-protect/).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal