Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on April 09, 2011, 04:25:08 PM

Title: Protect question
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 09, 2011, 04:25:08 PM
Does protection protect from numbers?
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: TheHobbit13 on April 09, 2011, 05:56:29 PM
Gabe and Jordan say yes. Bryon Shaef and Pol and a few others say know. I would rule that it does.
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: STAMP on April 09, 2011, 06:00:03 PM
My impression from all the jibber-jabber I've read is that it does not.  In fact, if you are protected from a "card" you're really only protected from the SA on that card, and nothing else on the card.
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: Professoralstad on April 09, 2011, 06:19:07 PM
My impression from all the jibber-jabber I've read is that it does not.  In fact, if you are protected from a "card" you're really only protected from the SA on that card, and nothing else on the card.

How does that make sense from a logical viewpoint? Characters are discarded in a BTN battle based on strength vs. toughness. So, if it wasn't for your characters strength, my character would be winning (or at least in a stalemate) all the time. Clearly the implication is that the strength defeats the opponent.

The reason people believe that protect only protects from SA's is this REG quote:

Quote
Protect allows cards to be unaffected by specified special abilities and is related to cards that specify “cannot be” or “may not be” (see Cannot be in the glossary).  Protected cards cannot be targeted for harm.  Cards that protect give an ability like immune to the cards they protect (see Immune).

However, there have been several cases where it has been ruled that cards can also be protected from discard by game rule, such as the legend of the 1/0 Pharisees. Which leads me to believe that given that the REG doesn't specify that protect doesn't include numbers, and it has applied to game rules, then I don't really understand why it shouldn't protect from numbers.
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: STAMP on April 09, 2011, 09:37:48 PM
My impression from all the jibber-jabber I've read is that it does not.  In fact, if you are protected from a "card" you're really only protected from the SA on that card, and nothing else on the card.

How does that make sense from a logical viewpoint? Characters are discarded in a BTN battle based on strength vs. toughness. So, if it wasn't for your characters strength, my character would be winning (or at least in a stalemate) all the time. Clearly the implication is that the strength defeats the opponent.

The reason people believe that protect only protects from SA's is this REG quote:

Quote
Protect allows cards to be unaffected by specified special abilities and is related to cards that specify “cannot be” or “may not be” (see Cannot be in the glossary).  Protected cards cannot be targeted for harm.  Cards that protect give an ability like immune to the cards they protect (see Immune).

However, there have been several cases where it has been ruled that cards can also be protected from discard by game rule, such as the legend of the 1/0 Pharisees. Which leads me to believe that given that the REG doesn't specify that protect doesn't include numbers, and it has applied to game rules, then I don't really understand why it shouldn't protect from numbers.

Don't get me wrong.  I agree with your viewpoint.  I was just answering Maniac based on what I've read inthe threads in which I've been on the wrong side of the debate.   :-\
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 10, 2011, 12:17:11 AM
and I keep playing different people and having to play differently based on whom my opponent is...
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: TheHobbit13 on April 10, 2011, 02:05:09 PM
Can we get some sort of consensus soon before the big tournaments start?
Title: Re: Protect question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 10, 2011, 02:36:01 PM
I've always heard that only "Protect from Discard" specifically will save a character from being beaten by the numbers.

So, a 1/1 hero that says "Protected from King of Tyrus, CBN" would still die by the numbers if he fought KoT, but a 1/1 that says "Protected from discard, CBN" would not.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal