Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Chronic Apathy on April 04, 2011, 08:44:56 PM

Title: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 04, 2011, 08:44:56 PM
I make an RA with James, son of Al banded to Thad. My opponent blocks with a low ability character and plays Shimei's Malicious Curse.

Is Thad forced out of battle, or does the protect cover it?
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Alex_Olijar on April 04, 2011, 08:45:33 PM
He is forced out, however, his protect ability is still active (since it can't be interrupted).
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 04, 2011, 08:47:38 PM
New question.

My opponent has Image of Jealousy on my Herod's Temple (the same scenario applies). Can I use Herod's Temple's ability since IoJ was negated?
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Alex_Olijar on April 04, 2011, 08:51:30 PM
It actually was not negated because IoJ was played on a previous phase (unless it was played earlier in the battle).
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 04, 2011, 08:53:45 PM
Even though IoJ's wording says all enhancements, not just enhancements played this battle?
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Korunks on April 04, 2011, 09:26:18 PM
It actually was not negated because IoJ was played on a previous phase (unless it was played earlier in the battle).

It can still be negated though, only the placement is CBN after a turn.  Not the ability.
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 04, 2011, 09:51:42 PM
Even though IoJ's wording says all enhancements, not just enhancements played this battle?

U mean Shamies Malicious Curse says all enhancements?
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Gabe on April 04, 2011, 10:11:23 PM
Shimei's Malicious Curse (Ki)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 0 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: All special abilities on characters and enhancements except this one are negated. Battle is determined by the numbers. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon • Verse: I Kings 2:8 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Common)
Title: Re: Protect > Negate?
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 06, 2011, 03:34:39 PM
It's still under debate whether "negate all" has an implied "in battle." I believe it does, but there are some who would have it extend to negating placed Enhancements too.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal