Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on June 29, 2015, 07:21:30 PM

Title: Protect and Optional Drawing
Post by: Praeceps on June 29, 2015, 07:21:30 PM
If my opponent has Simon the Zealot (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Simon_the_Zealot_(Di)) activated in territory and I play Generous Giving (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Generous_Giving_%28TEC%29) during a battle can my opponent draw three cards?
Title: Re: Protect and Optional Drawing
Post by: Redoubter on June 29, 2015, 07:25:52 PM
No. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/mayhem-and-jt/msg542580/#msg542580)  Forced or optional, protect stops targeting.
Title: Re: Protect and Optional Drawing
Post by: Praeceps on June 29, 2015, 10:59:39 PM
Yeah, I was just reading through that to see if anything had been said about optional, but only forced was being mentioned so I wasn't sure if there was a distinction or not.
Title: Re: Protect and Optional Drawing
Post by: Redoubter on June 30, 2015, 07:44:46 AM
Yeah, I was just reading through that to see if anything had been said about optional, but only forced was being mentioned so I wasn't sure if there was a distinction or not.

Yep, no distinction because protection still stops the targeting and the source is your opponent's card.  So Generous Giving cannot target any cards in your deck with the draw ability, and thus there is nothing you have the option to draw (even though it is optional).
Title: Re: Protect and Optional Drawing
Post by: Praeceps on June 30, 2015, 04:28:38 PM
Thanks much
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal