Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: fyero on June 15, 2018, 06:47:29 AM

Title: Protect Abilities
Post by: fyero on June 15, 2018, 06:47:29 AM
If I have Covenant with Phinehas up to protect house of sleazes priests from discard, and I attack with one of those said priests, can my opponent use an interrupt the battle and discard to kill the priest? Thinking through this because the actual protection that is being granted the priest is coming from outside of the battle and therefore can’t be interrupted by an interrupt the battle? Or is the protect ability pseudo placed onto the priest for the battle phase?
Title: Re: Protect Abilities
Post by: Watchman on June 15, 2018, 07:30:40 AM
“House of sleazes priests”  :rollin:
Gotta love auto-correct!

If you played CwP as an enh in battle then yes, the protect ability can be interrupted and the House of Sleazes priests (lol) can be discarded. However, if it’s active as an artifact then the only way your opponent can get around the protection from discard ability is if he interrupts (or negates) an artifact or neutral card (or in this case, a Covenant) since, as you stated, the thing granting protection is outside of battle.
Title: Re: Protect Abilities
Post by: fyero on June 15, 2018, 07:46:49 AM
Great, that was my original understanding as well. Thanks.
Title: Re: Protect Abilities
Post by: The Guardian on June 15, 2018, 10:20:30 AM
Watchman is correct though a "regardless of protection" ability would work as well (Stone of Thebez for example).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal