Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on November 07, 2009, 05:08:43 PM
-
Can I use Promised Land for unlimited access as long as I have one of the "PL Heroes" in play to target?
Example: I have Jacob in my territory and rescue with Zebulun. I use Promised Land for access and choose Jacob as the target for Promised Land's ability. Since Jacob was the target PL doesn't get a use?
Promised Land
Type: Site • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Hero gains access to any site. Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joshua, and King David may use Promised Land without limit. May only be used twice by other Heroes, then it must be discarded.
-
I see it as one of 2 ways:
1. When you target Jacob, you're giving him the access, not Zebulun, so Z is just sitting there in battle with only normal blue access.
2. When you target Jacob, it means nothing since he's not in battle, and Zebulun causes one use of PL to be used.
I don't see how you could "target" Jacob with the effect while still giving Zebulun access.
-
Just having a multi-color site in battle grants access to all Heroes in battle.
-
Just having a multi-color site in battle grants access to all Heroes in battle.
Right, but Jacob isn't in battle, so idk how he could be "using" it with Zebulun getting the benefits.
-
Redemption® Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Battle Phase > Access to a Site
To rescue a Lost Soul in a site, a Hero must have access to the site. If a Hero does not have access to a Lost Soul, then the battle is a battle challenge. A Hero has access to a site if:
1. the Hero’s icon box contains a matching brigade color in the icon box of the site, or
2. a special ability gives the Hero access to the site, or
3. An unoccupied site is placed in battle with the Hero and the icon box on the unoccupied site contains a matching brigade color in the icon box of the occupied site. The unoccupied site can be added at any time during the battle, but it must come from the player’s territory. If the Hero is defeated in battle, the site returns to the owner’s territory. The special ability on a multi-colored site is active only when the site is in battle and being used to give a Hero access to a site.
-
Because Promised Land is in battle... I think it works - I don't like it, but I think it works. As a heavy site-deck player I really hope it doesn't work but I think it does...
-
The bolded part of the quote I gave specifies that the ability activates when it is being used to access a site. Therefore, the limit of two uses still applies, regardless of any targetting. With that said, the first sentence starts with "Hero" which has been determined by the grammar police to mean "This Hero," which would default to the Hero who activated the site's SA (that is the one in battle).
-
The bolded part of the quote I gave specifies that the ability activates when it is being used to access a site. Therefore, the limit of two uses still applies, regardless of any targetting. With that said, the first sentence starts with "Hero" which has been determined by the grammar police to mean "This Hero," which would default to the Hero who activated the site's SA (that is the one in battle).
+1
That's what I was trying to say earlier, but you said it much more fluently :P
-
I agree. The Heroes in battle are using the site, not a Hero in a territory.
Kevin Shride
-
"Hero" which has been determined by the grammar police to mean "This Hero," which would default to the Hero who activated the site's SA
I haven't heard this before - What effect does this have on Cheribum + ET playing Peace treaty? It has been ruled previously (and I know that I've done it before) that you can target Cheribum with Peace treaty. Is this incorrect and I didn't know about it, or have other people been playing it this way also?
-
In that case, Cherubim and ET are both in battle, whereas in this idea Jacob is in territory.
-
So? I can pull out numerous examples where cards give battle effects to cards outside of battle- Chief among them is TGT.
-
So? I can pull out numerous examples where cards give battle effects to cards outside of battle- Chief among them is TGT.
Those cards all specify targets, though. Peace Treaty specifies the type of hero. I was referring to cards that begin with just "Hero" and nothing else.
FWIW, I am not part of the Grammar Police. I'm part of the Math Police. I was just restating what I have been told in the past. In the example of this thread, it would be irrelevant anyway since the granting of site access counts as a "use" for a multicolored site (per the rulebook).