Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on October 15, 2009, 09:00:44 PM

Title: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: browarod on October 15, 2009, 09:00:44 PM
Does the Abram half of Abram/Abraham count as Abraham for the usage of promised Land? I know David doesn't count as King David for this card, but I'm not sure about A/A.

Side note: I have 3 Promised Lands from Patriarchs, and 2 of them have the guy in the picture facing toward the right, but the third has him facing to the left (reverse of the other two). Which is the "correct" version?
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: 12tipton3 on October 15, 2009, 09:22:28 PM
yes.
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 15, 2009, 10:19:06 PM
For your first question, I know there was a thread about that not too long ago, but I don't remember the outcome...No one uses A/A anyway. ::)

For #2, I don't believe there is a "correct" version. Patriarchs had a lot of reversed images and different-colored borders on their cards, so you can never tell, you know?
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: RedemptionAggie on October 15, 2009, 10:25:13 PM
Since David doesn't count as a King David, I don't think Abram counts as Abraham.
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: browarod on October 15, 2009, 10:29:11 PM
No one uses A/A anyway. ::)
He works splendidly in my Genesis deck  ::)

Since David doesn't count as a King David, I don't think Abram counts as Abraham.
I can understand why this would be the case, but for obvious reasons I hope it isn't :P
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 15, 2009, 10:42:30 PM
I agree with Aggie. The card specifies how the card becomes Abraham. Until that time, the card is not Abraham.
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: DDiceRC on October 15, 2009, 10:58:04 PM
However, David and King David are separate cards, so you could use a David without it being the King David card. Abram/Abraham is one card. That may not make a difference, but it may.

On the flip side, it doesn't matter as far as A/A goes. If Abram makes a rescue, any subsequent rescues are "free" ones since he's now Abraham. (Of course, it would take one of the two "counted" rescues away.)
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 15, 2009, 11:02:33 PM
However, David and King David are separate cards, so you could use a David without it being the King David card. Abram/Abraham is one card. That may not make a difference, but it may.

It may indeed. Although A & A are on one card, they are not both on the card at the same time. This card is like Saul/Paul in that it is only ever one or the other. You do not get to choose. They enter only as one, and can only become the other if proper conditions are met.
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: crustpope on October 16, 2009, 04:10:04 PM
So king david doenst work?  really?  they are the same person!  that is just stupid..*gripes about having to revamp is roayallty deck*
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 16, 2009, 04:33:10 PM
So king david doenst work?  really?  they are the same person!  that is just stupid..*gripes about having to revamp is roayallty deck*

Promised Land says "King David." The regular Davids (red and green) cannot use Promised Land more than twice.
Title: Re: Promised Land Inquiry
Post by: crustpope on October 18, 2009, 12:38:47 PM
So king david doenst work?  really?  they are the same person!  that is just stupid..*gripes about having to revamp is roayallty deck*

Promised Land says "King David." The regular Davids (red and green) cannot use Promised Land more than twice.

Either way, they are the same person!!  that is stinky.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal