Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SomeKittens on January 11, 2012, 10:56:14 PM

Title: Promised Land
Post by: SomeKittens on January 11, 2012, 10:56:14 PM
If Rachel is banded to Jacob is that considered a use of Promised Land?
Promised Land (Pa)

Type: Site • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Hero gains access to any site. Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joshua, and King David may use Promised Land without limit. May only be used twice by other Heroes, then it must be discarded. • Identifiers: Canaan • Verse: Joshua 1:2-3 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Chronic Apathy on January 11, 2012, 11:04:33 PM
"A gain access ability is ongoing.  Gain access abilities target the Heroes that gain access."

This quote from the REG suggests that all heroes in battle gain the site access, which would mean that Rachel takes one of the uses of Promised Land.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Irish_Luck on January 11, 2012, 11:10:22 PM
Also if two heroes that aren't named on the card are banded together would that use it up completely?
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Chronic Apathy on January 11, 2012, 11:13:11 PM
Hm, that's a good question, and I actually I'm going to have to reverse my original assumption after looking at the card again. I think that because the card just says "Hero" instead of all heroes, you can choose which Hero gets to use it, which for your question Bret, would mean no, unless you selected two heroes.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: SomeKittens on January 11, 2012, 11:49:14 PM
Hm, that's a good question, and I actually I'm going to have to reverse my original assumption after looking at the card again. I think that because the card just says "Hero" instead of all heroes, you can choose which Hero gets to use it, which for your question Bret, would mean no, unless you selected two heroes.
I ruled it that he could choose Jacob as the hero gaining access, so it's not used up.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 12, 2012, 02:14:13 AM
I think the question that needs to be answered first is, does a Hero "use" a Site when it's in battle with it? And if not, does a Hero "use" a Site when it rescues a Lost Soul from a site it would not have otherwise been able to access?

1. If a Hero uses a Site by being in battle with it, the second time Promised Land enters a battle that includes a Hero not listed on it, it will be Discarded. Or if it ever enters battle with a band of two or more non-listed characters, it is Discarded.

2. If a Hero uses a Site by rescuing a Lost Soul he would not have otherwise been able to access with it, then after the second successful rescue at an off-brigade site by a non-named Hero, it would be Discarded.

3. If the "use" in Promised Land refers only to gaining the benefit of its special ability, then the second time a non-listed Hero is selected, Promised Land is Discarded.

I doubt 1 is true, and between 2 and 3 it just depends on what precedent we want to set. 2 would be the best resolution of the problem for this particular card imo, but we then have a game rule that didn't exist before, and we need to make sure we're ok with all of the implications. 3 is the cleanest, least painful ruling from a domino effect standpoint, but then Promised Land would be infinitely usable for access as long as there were a named character on the table to assign the benefit to.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Chronic Apathy on January 12, 2012, 02:17:10 AM
I actually don't think Promised Land would be discarded as soon as it entered battle (should 1 or 3 be the case), due to the precedent set by the Burial Shroud ruling.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 12, 2012, 02:30:18 AM
That just depends on whether the "use" happens like an Artifact or if it would be "used" when the conditions for its use were met. That's not really important to the main question.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Professoralstad on January 12, 2012, 12:23:38 PM
I know that the ruling has, in the past, been that only RAs that involve none of the listed heroes count against PL, because you could specify who is gaining access, as SK suggested.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 12, 2012, 01:29:18 PM
Maybe so, but the mechanics of that need to be explained. What constitutes "using" an access site.
Title: Re: Promised Land
Post by: RTSmaniac on January 13, 2012, 12:01:54 PM
Hero gains access to any site.

I think it would be a targeted hero.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal