Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on October 15, 2011, 12:37:15 PM

Title: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: Red Wing on October 15, 2011, 12:37:15 PM
So in the 2011-12 ruling changes thread, it says that protect does protect from numbers. Here's a scenario from a recent game.

Player 1 attacks with Angel under the Oak, draws 2 and exchanges for Gideon in territory. Player 2 blocks with a with a higher-numbered Evil Character.  Player 1 has initiative, but doesn't have any enhancements in hand. Does Gideon win the battle because he's protected? If so is the EC discarded? Or does Gideon have to have higher numbers to win the battle? 

The Angel Under the Oak (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may draw 2 and exchange this Hero with a gold Judge in your hand, deck, territory, or discard pile. Protect Gideon from opponents. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Angel • Verse: Judges 6:11 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

Gideon (L)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 6 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: None
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 15, 2011, 12:55:10 PM
Since neither player is defeating the other, it's a stalemate situation.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: Red on October 15, 2011, 12:55:47 PM
What bb said. It's stalemate.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: Red Wing on October 15, 2011, 01:03:36 PM
Is this in the Rule book or the REG? I looked under protect in the REG and it wasn't there.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: CJSports on October 15, 2011, 01:06:11 PM
It's more like Gideon has infinity defense but still 6 offense and is protected from enhancements. So the EC doesn't have higher attack and Gideon doesn't have higher attack.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 15, 2011, 01:32:18 PM
Don't confuse protect with ignore. Protect only affects the character being protected, not his opposer. Oak makes it so that Gideon can't die, but it doesn't make it so that he's killing the EC.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on October 15, 2011, 01:58:54 PM
Protect largely functions as immunity now. As has been mentioned, Gideon effectively has infinite defense, and cannot be harmed by other cards. However, his offense still has to overcome the EC's defense, as is the case in a normal FBTN scenario.
Title: Re: Probably a text-book question, but how exactly does this work?
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 15, 2011, 11:07:18 PM
Quote from Gabe on this thread: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/ (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/)

Clarification for Protection
Protection from a specific card includes being protected from the numbers on that card. If the protection is from a character it includes enhancements used by that character. This is only a clarification of what was being rules previously in some areas but caused confusion in other areas. Protection of Angels and Thaddeus (Di) both protect a Hero from being discarded by the numbers on an opposing Evil Character.

So, as others have said, the result would be a stalemate.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal