Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on September 13, 2016, 06:13:55 PM

Title: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Red Wing on September 13, 2016, 06:13:55 PM
If I play Primary Objective with less than seven cards in hand, do I still discard my hand and select a soul?

Primary Objective-
If making a rescue attempt, discard hand (minimum 7 cards) and select a lost soul in opponent’s Land of Bondage. Opponent must discard hand or holder rescues that lost soul. Battle continues as a battle challenge.
Title: Re: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 13, 2016, 06:41:16 PM
It said it have to be minimum 7 cards. So if your hand is less than 7 cards then it shouldn't work. Thanks.
Title: Re: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Ironisaac on September 13, 2016, 09:01:14 PM
 +1. Seems like that would be the case. I think you could still discard your hand, but there really is no point to that.
Title: Re: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 13, 2016, 09:37:46 PM
I may even argue that you can't even discard your hand at all unless it has at least seven cards.
Title: Re: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Ironisaac on September 13, 2016, 10:38:12 PM
I may even argue that you can't even discard your hand at all unless it has at least seven cards.

That's what I was thinking too, but I wasn't sure.
Title: Re: Primary Objective cost
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 14, 2016, 02:24:59 AM
Wasn't there a ruling saying that if the card's targets a specific target, but if the target is unavailable, that ability does not trigger? So therefore, Primary Objective first targets the owner's hand which is "minimum of 7 cards", if you don't even have that, then you cannot even discard your entire hand.

M.L.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal