Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 12:45:20 PM

Title: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 12:45:20 PM
If I set aside some of my opponent's missionaries and some of my own, I get to look and take on his turn when his come back and then again on my turn when mine come back, right?
Title: Re: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: Professoralstad on September 09, 2016, 03:34:15 PM
I know a long time ago there was a ruling that if the full set-aside/return condition wasn't met (i.e. everyone who was set aside doesn't return) then the condition wasn't met (e.g. Hamans Plot targets my Hero set aside with Pentecost, but not all the Heroes, I still don't get to draw 3). I don't remember if that is how it was settled, or if such a principle is codified anywhere, but if it is, then I would say you don't get to look and take until your guys come back. If it is not, then it probably should be codified one way or another.
Title: Re: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 09, 2016, 04:04:49 PM
Looks like that's in the REG under Set-Aside > Special Conditions:
Quote
If more than one card is set-aside with a specified duration, and one of the cards is prematurely removed from set-aside, the other cards remain for the duration.  However, if there is a benefit attached to the set-aside, it is not gained, as the condition of setting aside all of the cards for the specified duration was not met.
Title: Re: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 07:28:41 PM
But none of the cards returned prematurely. All of them would be returning after the full duration.
Title: Re: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: Gabe on September 09, 2016, 08:08:07 PM
Prayer and Fasting's SA:

Quote
Set aside any number of clay missionaries for 1 turn. On return, look at the top X cards of your deck; add up to 1 card to hand (or 2 if The Holy Spirit is in play) and underdeck the rest.

I believe you only gain a benefit when your missionaries return, but X can include your opponents Heroes. I could also see the point of view that the benefit cannot be gained until all missionaries are returned. I don't think it's likely that you get the benefit twice.
Title: Re: Prayer and Fasting
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 09, 2016, 09:13:07 PM
I mean, neither do I, but where is that in the actual rules?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal