Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Noah on March 12, 2013, 07:50:46 PM

Title: Posterity Removed
Post by: Noah on March 12, 2013, 07:50:46 PM
Posterity Removed

Opponent may not play characters out of hand until this effect is completed.
Look at opponent's hand. Discard a human character in that hand.
Opponent may draw a card to replace it.

If you negate the discard can your opponent not play characters out of his hand until the battle is over?
Title: Re: Posterity Removed
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 12, 2013, 08:10:51 PM
The "this effect" part of the SA is referring to the SA of the card itself. Once the card is played, and the SA completes, your opponent may play characters from hand (in addition to negating or interrupting it).
Title: Re: Posterity Removed
Post by: Noah on March 12, 2013, 08:14:08 PM
So what's a situation where the "Opponent may not play characters out of hand until this effect is completed." part of the special ability is actually useful?
Title: Re: Posterity Removed
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 12, 2013, 08:22:17 PM
None. It is just old wording that is irrelevant. SAs must complete before your opponent can do anything now anyway.
Title: Re: Posterity Removed
Post by: Professoralstad on March 12, 2013, 08:48:18 PM
None. It is just old wording that is irrelevant. SAs must complete before your opponent can do anything now anyway.

YMT is correct. If it were printed today, it would just say: "Look at opponent's hand and discard a human character in that hand. Opponent may draw 1."
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal