Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on October 01, 2010, 01:22:30 PM
-
Pontius Pilate (Di)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 8 / 10 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: If blocking, look at opponent’s hand and select one good card and one evil card. Opponent must discard one of them. May be used once per game. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Governor (Rome), Royalty • Verse: Luke 23:23-24 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()
(1) If your opponent has only good or evil cards in their hand, do you choose one of those which must then be discarded since there isn't another card to choose? I would play it this way as a "do all you can" play.
(2) If your opponent has no good or evil cards in their hand (unlikely, but possible), once you look at their hand have you used this "once per game" ability? I would say yes.
-
I would say yes to both. For the first one, you do as much as you can, and selection of both a good and an evil card is not a cost to be paid for forcing the discard.
For the second one, if you attack with Jephthah, you can discard your top card even if no EC's in your opponent's territory to be targeted, but you can't then use him again. Same situation would apply here.
What I'm wodering is why Pontius Pilate is considered royalty. That seems to be a pretty loose definition of royal if Governors get that distinction.
-
lol wow hes considered royalty lol too bad im not playing royalty this year
-
I think the royalty identifier in the REG is a mistake. It isn't on the card itself.
-
Awesome, I love this card.
-
1. I think it could be read either way.
If you ask, "what does the opponent do?" - he discards. Discards what? He discards one card in hand "of them". Them is plural and if you have only one card does that exist? Basically you can't pick out "of them" if them doesn't exist.
So the first sentence sets up a condition that the second setence picks out of. If the condition can't be set up then you can't pick out of it.
Of course, I think you could also read it that you are picking between the good and evil card and if their is no evil (or good) card then your choice is limited to what is there.
I'm not sure if their is a consistent standard for how the language is interpreted.
-
I'm not sure if their is a consistent standard for how the language is interpreted.
It's Redemption, there's rarely consistency for how language is interpreted.
-
1. I think it could be read either way.
If you ask, "what does the opponent do?" - he discards. Discards what? He discards one card in hand "of them". Them is plural and if you have only one card does that exist? Basically you can't pick out "of them" if them doesn't exist.
So the first sentence sets up a condition that the second setence picks out of. If the condition can't be set up then you can't pick out of it.
Of course, I think you could also read it that you are picking between the good and evil card and if their is no evil (or good) card then your choice is limited to what is there.
I'm not sure if their is a consistent standard for how the language is interpreted.
Dude, you're trying too hard for the third thread in a row I've read tonight.
-
But I agree. It says "choose one of THEM." You don't meet the "them" requirement, so I don't think you can discard. I would disagree however, with the second ruling and say that if you didn't discard, you didn't use the ability and can use it again.
-
'them' isnt a requirement. 'them' isnt a cost. that is the only time that would matter. it defaults to 'do as much as you can.'
-
Fair enough.
-
Hey,
I would say yes to both. For the first one, you do as much as you can, and selection of both a good and an evil card is not a cost to be paid for forcing the discard.
For the second one, if you attack with Jephthah, you can discard your top card even if no EC's in your opponent's territory to be targeted, but you can't then use him again. Same situation would apply here.
This is correct.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly