Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on June 12, 2017, 07:22:26 PM

Title: Polycarp Q
Post by: Master Q on June 12, 2017, 07:22:26 PM
I have Polycarp in battle. I use Overcome! to discard the blocking evil character in battle and reveal a good dominant to return it to hand afterwards. My opponent tries to negate this. I discard Polycarp to instead the negate. So does Overcome! still work and return to hand, or not since Polycarp was discarded?

Polycarp - "If your good N.T. Enhancement is interrupted or negated by an opponent, you may discard Polycarp instead. Cannot be interrupted."

Overcome! - "Negate an evil card or discard an Evil Character. You may reveal a good Dominant from hand to return this card to hand after battle."
Title: Re: Polycarp Q
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 12, 2017, 07:25:44 PM
Overcome wasn't negated because of polycarp, so it returns to your hand at the end of battle
Title: Re: Polycarp Q
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 12, 2017, 07:42:29 PM
Overcome wasn't negated because of polycarp, so it returns to your hand at the end of battle

So the EC and Polycarp are discarded, and Overcome! returns. Alright. 8)

Sorry, I missed the part about Polycarp being in battle. I don't think overcome resolves.
Title: Re: Polycarp Q
Post by: The Guardian on June 12, 2017, 07:43:02 PM
Agreed. Another thing--I believe the reveal part of Overcome would not occur until after SI resolves.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal