Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on July 05, 2017, 10:45:53 AM

Title: Played on cards?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 05, 2017, 10:45:53 AM
How do cards that get an extra special ability based on if they were playing on a specific character work if they're played in territory? Some cards say if played on this special hero or evil character they gained cannot be negated. If you play them in territory and there a place card do they gain that special ability as well?
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: The Guardian on July 05, 2017, 10:56:05 AM
Can you provide an example of a card you're thinking of? By "played in territory" you are referring to territory-class enhancements, right?
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 05, 2017, 11:05:21 AM
Faith among corruption. Place in territory: you may discard this card to negate and discard the last evil enhancement played by an opponent or an evil enhancement in play cannot be negated if used by a flood Survivor.

My question is when does it gain the cannot be negated if used by flood Survivor?

Does it only gain that if it's played in battle on a flood Survivor?

Or does it gain cannot be negated if played in a territory on a flood Survivor?

Once it's placed in territory and there's a flood Survivor in battle and you discard it from your territory does it gain cannot be negated if it was played on someone that was not a flood Survivor in a territory?

Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 05, 2017, 11:20:15 AM
Faith among corruption. Place in territory: you may discard this card to negate and discard the last evil enhancement played by an opponent or an evil enhancement in play cannot be negated if used by a flood Survivor.

My question is when does it gain the cannot be negated if used by flood Survivor?

Does it only gain that if it's played in battle on a flood Survivor?

Or does it gain cannot be negated if played in a territory on a flood Survivor?

Once it's placed in territory and there's a flood Survivor in battle and you discard it from your territory does it gain cannot be negated if it was played on someone that was not a flood Survivor in a territory?

Even though it gets placed in territory you still need to play FaC on a blue Hero. If the Hero you play it on is a flood survivor, it becomes cannot be negated.
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: The Guardian on July 05, 2017, 11:29:49 AM
Kevin is correct. FaC either has CBN when you play it or it does not. It cannot gain it later.
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 12, 2017, 06:53:57 PM
I just want to make sure I got this correct. If you play FaC on a flood Survivor in your territory and it's placed in your territory then you wait five turns and you decide to use it during battle to negate your opponent's enhancement it still has the cannot be negated?

FaC says if used by flood Survivor. So I'm just wanting to make sure that if you play it on a flood Survivor in your territory and it's placed in your territory that's considered used by a flood Survivor?

That just makes the cards super powerful being a territory class card that cannot be negated. My opponent and I also have to remember that he played it on a flood Survivor.

Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 12, 2017, 07:06:01 PM
Yes all that matters is the state you played it in. If it was Cannot be Negated when played, it is Cannot be Negated for as long as it is active. Since a place ability paired with a ":" means "as long as this card remains in its placed location" it is an ongoing ability and will be active and ongoing, Cannot be Negated, for as long as it remains placed in your territory.
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 12, 2017, 07:15:19 PM
So placing it in your territory is considered played or discarding it is considered played?
Title: Re: Played on cards?
Post by: Gabe on July 12, 2017, 07:19:41 PM
A core game rule is that enhancements must be played on a character of matching brigade. When you play FaC activating the ability which placed it in your territory, did you play it on a flood survivor? If yes it is CBN and remains CBN while it is placed. It no, it's not CBN and never will be.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal