Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: yirgogo on April 24, 2014, 12:16:30 PM
-
If I had High places in Play, and was running Philistines, could I play forign sword during my prep phase, and still keep it on an evil character as a weapon class enhancement, and than could it be played from play if it is being held as a weapon class enhancement. Is there any ruling on this?
-
Foreign Sword - Negate an opponent’s evil or neutral card. If used by a Canaanite or Philistine, you may return that card to the top of owner’s deck.
Foreign Sword does not contain the word "place" so you cannot use it with High Places.
-
Oh, sorry, is there a warrior class one that does? I thought that there was. I was playing the other day facing phillistines and we had a question about this. I will try and find out which one it was.
-
It doesn't need to be played with High Places because it is a Warrior Class Enhancement. The question if I am understanding is when does the sword's ability activate? Assuming it was played on a Warrior Class Philistine then when the Philistine was brought into battle the sword would activate and you could make your choices. The way the question was asked is a bit confusing for me so if this is not what is being asked, please rephrase your initial question.
-
It doesn't need to be played with High Places because it is a Warrior Class Enhancement. The question if I am understanding is when does the sword's ability activate?
I believe he thought there was "Place" in FS's ability, which would lead to an interesting question of if you could use the ability while also being able to place it as a weapon.
However, it has a Return ability, no mention of Place (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Foreign_Sword_(RA2)). It cannot be placed through High Places.
For reference, the only weapon I can find with the word "Place" in it is Chariots of the Sun (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Chariots_of_the_Sun_(Ki)), and since that is placing itself, there is no confusion about what could happen with it and High Places.
-
okay, thanks, must've been thinking of something else! I was confused though!