Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on November 11, 2011, 02:12:39 PM

Title: Plague of Boils
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 11, 2011, 02:12:39 PM
Plague of Boils reads "Decrease all EC in play by 2/2."

It never actually says "until end of battle/turn."

Are we just to assume that the decrease lasts until the end of the turn, or is it actually lasting?
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: Red Wing on November 11, 2011, 02:17:36 PM
Plague of Boils reads "Decrease all EC in play by 2/2."

It never actually says "until end of battle/turn."

Are we just to assume that the decrease lasts until the end of the turn, or is it actually lasting?


It was ruled in this thread that Gibeonite Trickery's increase is lasting, so I would think that it's the same for Plague of Boils.  http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/is-gib-trick's-increase-permanent/msg447831/#msg447831
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: Drrek on November 11, 2011, 02:18:50 PM
I'm pretty sure unless it specifies that it only lasts until end of battle or turn (at least on enhancements, artifacts are a different story), that the decrease stays.
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 11, 2011, 02:23:36 PM
Well, now, wait a minute.

Gibeonite Trickery is permanent, even though it DOES say until end of battle.

...so now EVERY card that decreases, even if it does say until end of battle/turn, is permanent?
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: RedemptionAggie on November 11, 2011, 02:27:27 PM
On the card, Gib Trick doesn't specify a duration.  I think that "until end of battle" in the play as is a relic from when all increases/decreases only lasted until the end of the phase.

From the REG:
Quote
Ongoing increase or decrease abilities last until the end of the current phase.

Gains from instantaneous increase or decrease abilities are permanent.

Assuming the two types are only differentiated by a specified duration (or not), Plague of Boils is permanent.  If there's some other wording that differentiates them, I don't know what Plague of Boils is.
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: Red Wing on November 11, 2011, 02:30:04 PM
Well, now, wait a minute.

Gibeonite Trickery is permanent, even though it DOES say until end of battle.

...so now EVERY card that decreases, even if it does say until end of battle/turn, is permanent?

Gib Trick has play as that says that says "until the end of the turn," but many times play-as becomes outdated. That's the case with Gibeonite Trickery. RedemptionAggie is correct.
Title: Re: Plague of Boils
Post by: SignoftheStar on November 11, 2011, 03:04:33 PM
Oh, OK.

For a second the world of Redemption almost became quite different.

Alright then, I think that clarifies things.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal