Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: disciple_drew on March 16, 2010, 09:29:06 PM
-
Curious, what's the ruling for placing enhancements that state a condition such as a name of a character then a period then effect. Does the card's condition have to be met to have all the abilities activate?
Such as Herod's Treachery requires to be placed on a Herod. Then it has 2 abilities.
Place on a Herod. That Herod may use evil enhancements regardless of brigade. You may discard this card to force X Heros to withdraw from battle. Where X is the number of good brigades opponent has in play.
So, can the Holder place it on another character other than a Herod and still have the 1st and 2nd ability activate? Or does the 2nd only activate or what? Please someone clear this up for me.
-
the second ability needs a herod. lame, I know...
-
Are you sure about that? I thought it was whoever could use it.
-
Are you sure about that? I thought it was whoever could use it.
I'm pretty sure that's how it was ruled earlier. Sauce was the one who told me about it... IMO, it should be two abilities.
-
Polarius was the first to bring this up and it was ruled that it is required to be placed on a herod in order to use the other abilities. I'm sure Bryon or Schaef wouldnt mind explaining the reasoning on this again...
-
Polarius was the first to bring this up and it was ruled that it is required to be placed on a herod in order to use the other abilities. I'm sure Bryon or Schaef wouldnt mind explaining the reasoning on this again...
"Because that's what Rob said" is probably what the answer is...
-
RTSmaniac is correct. The answer to this question is here on the boards. But to save your fingers from having to type "Treachery" into the search box... (where you'd find this: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19995.msg312752#msg312752 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19995.msg312752#msg312752))
Enhancements that place themselves somewhere generally are in this form:
Place this card in a location. Do something.
Everything after the place ability is active only while placed, and as long as it is placed.
To make this more clear, the cards in the next set that do this are given a colon instead of a period. Like so:
Place this card in a location: Do something.
But whether it is a period or a colon, the ability always works the same way. Everything after the place ability is active only while the card is placed.
-
Perhaps this has already been answered elsewhere too, but can I discard Herod's Treachery even if my Herod is not in battle to push back my opponent's hero(es)...
-
Perhaps this has already been answered elsewhere too, but can I discard Herod's Treachery even if my Herod is not in battle to push back my opponent's hero(es)...
I believe that is correct.
Kirk
-
Awesome, Kirk, thanks for the help! I will tell the guys at Schumer's that Kirk said I could and we will see how that flies...
-
it is an ongoing ability that activates during prep phase or discard phase (if played as a territory class enhancment)- and continues until discarded.
It would have been more clear if it contained:
Place on a Herod. While this card remains,that Herod may use evil enhancements regardless of brigade. You may discard this card to force X Heros to withdraw from battle. Where X is the number of good brigades opponent has in play.
As worded, it seems to activate only in battle, but what is important is the word Place which means that the card remains until somehow removed. So if the above ability was worded as i suggested then i feel it creates a redundency that i think the playtesters were trying to avoid when determining the wording for place cards.
With the suggested wording, I was trying to show that it can be used outside of battle. Like an Unholy Writ effect. Im having a hard time convincing myself that it does work outside of battle. Let me read this again:
Everything after the "place" ability on the placed enhancement explains what to do with the placed card. A placed enhancement activates as it enters battle ONLY if the ability that placed the card says it does.
OK makes sence now_hope this helps.
-
It would have been more clear if it contained:
Place on a Herod. While this card remains,that Herod may use evil enhancements regardless of brigade. You may discard this card to force X Heros to withdraw from battle.
Yes, it would have been more clear with that red phrase. For now, we just treat all place abilities with that red phrase as "understood." And again, for future cards, it will be much easier to see that the second depends on the first, since there will be a colon in between.
-
I'm glad you guys are going to start using additional punctuation in SAs. Splitting one ability into two sentences has always been a source of confusion.
-
I agree. I think it is a great idea and will help in the future.