Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on November 06, 2016, 01:41:12 PM
-
If a hero or EC is top decked or underdecked while in territory or during battle, and that character had a weapon or some other held or placed enh on it while in territory or when the character entered battle, does the enh get top decked / underdecked with the character or is it discarded? What about set-aside or removed from the game? The REG only addresses if the character is captured the enh gets discarded. The REG also says that the enh generally goes with the character when the character is moved. I wanted to verify what happens to the enh in this situation.
Thanks
-
This issue has been removed from all the specific entries on Set-Aside, Remove from Game, Underdeck, etc. It appears that the only ruling is the one you were referring to (under Placed Cards):
Movement of Cards “Placed On” Other Cards
If a card is placed on another card and the underlying card is relocated, the placed card is generally relocated
(regardless of protection) to the same location that the underlying card is relocated and remains there.
Exceptions to this rule are:
● Lost Souls that are placed in sites are always returned to the general Land of Bondage and do not follow the
underlying sites when the sites are relocated.
● Any card placed on a Lost Soul is discarded if the Lost Soul is relocated outside its original Land of Bondage.
● When a character is captured, all cards held by or placed on that character are discarded.
This would seem to indicate that placed cards and weapons would follow the host card to its new location, except for capture. Just remember that cards are always returned to their owner's deck or discard pile.
-
Sounds good. Thx, sir.
-
Placed enhancements follow characters everywhere except capture.
Weapons are different, however. In battle I believe they are handled like any other non-placed enhancement, i.e.: if the character that brought the weapon into battle is removed but there's another character in battle of the same brigade then the weapon stays and continue contributing its numbers, if there's no matching character then it gets discarded.
-
Placed enhancements follow characters everywhere except capture.
Weapons are different, however. In battle I believe they are handled like any other non-placed enhancement, i.e.: if the character that brought the weapon into battle is removed but there's another character in battle of the same brigade then the weapon stays and continue contributing its numbers, if there's no matching character then it gets discarded.
Was this clarified in the REG? I know this is how most of us have played it, but I think the last time it came up there was some ambiguity since the REG didn't specify a difference.
-
The REG says that indirectly by saying that weapons are only held outside of battle. Since it says nothing special about them in battle, they are treated like normal enhancements there.
Weapon-class enhancements may be held by warrior-class characters outside of battle
Outside of battle, weapon-class enhancements follow the same rules as placed cards by following their bearers to any location in which they are moved.
Following battle resolution, when enhancements are normally discarded, a Warrior-Class character’s controller may decide to keep one weapon-class enhancement on the warrior-class character.